Blush logo

Show Them How To Lay it Back!!

Flat Twist Protective Hairstyle.

By DenisseAlicePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Back at it again with more natural hair talk!

Hopefully, you read my last story about my natural hair journey.

If you did not, please make your way to it because I feel like all-natural hair women can relate to it.

Picking up from my last story, I will be demonstrating how I flat twist my hair as a protective hairstyle.

As shown in the photo above, these are the products I used in my hair.

I am a huge fan of the Shea Moisture, better yet.

My HAIR is a huge fan of the Shea Moisture brand.

The products lock into my hair easily.

Providing the moisture and hydration my hair needs.

Being that I bleached my hair and had been straightening it A LOT.

I need products that will replenish the moisture and hydration while drawing back my curl definition.

I used the Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen and Restore Conditioning Shine Gel, Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie, Aussie Miracle Moist Intense Hydration Oil and Tea Tree Oil.

Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil shapes, define and add shine while providing moderate hold. This product is packed with ingredients that will benefit your hair. Apple Cider Vinegar, nutrient-rich Jamaican Black Castor Oil, certified organic Shea Butter and invigorating Peppermint blend that increases resistance to breakage.

Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie are enriched with Silk Protein and Neem Oil. This product defines curls, reduces frizz and smooths hair for a soft, silky feel. Coconut and Neem Oils restore moisture and create shine. Nutrient-rich vegetable butter condition hair without weighing it down for bouncy, healthy curls.

Aussie Miracle Moist Intense Hydration Oil made with avocado and Australian jojoba penetrates hair and seals the cuticles.

As you can tell with the products, I am currently using my goal is to restore and hydrate.

It is NEEDED!

Bear with me, my lightening is terrible.

I will improve as I continue to update on my natural hair journey.

I divided my hair to part a section of hair I will begin with.

I applied a dollar coin amount of Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie to the section and combed it out. Following the curl enhancing smoothie, I applied a nickel size amount towards my ends of Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen and Restore Conditioning Shine Gel. I combed out my hair again and began to twist.

To flat twist, take a small section. Split it into two. Twist the two strands. As toy twist those strands, pick up a section of hair, twist again. You continue these steps until you reach the end of your hair. Twisting and taking a new section of hair for each twist.

In this scene, you can see the damage to my ends as I complete a flat twist in one section.

My ends are straight and stiff.

They do not curl up as they once did.

As my hair dried up throughout the day, my ends began to unravel a bit.

I had to re-twist my ends and I placed a rubber band to hold the ends.

I know rubber bands aren’t recommended due to the tearing and breakage it can cause.

But my options were limited.

This was the outcome after I took out my flat twist. There was some curl definition but it was frizzy and my ends are not as defined.

My next story will be about my wash day.

I will share the products I use, my technique in washing and conditioning my hair to cause less breakage as I detangle and how I deep condition my hair.

If you are enjoying this story and you are interested in reading more.

Please Like, Tip and Comment!

Thank You so much!

hair
Like

About the Creator

DenisseAlice

Live. Learn. Grow. Share

Life experiences make for great stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.