Motivation logo

2020: AN OPPORTUNITY

Seeing the Glass Half Full

By Rachel KPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
2020: AN OPPORTUNITY
Photo by Margarita Zueva on Unsplash

While some may remember 2020 for all it has taken away, I will remember 2020 for all it has given me. I am thankful for the opportunities, experiences, and time I have been given to remember who I am. To every glass seen half-empty, there is a glass seen half-full.

2020 began without a hitch. I was in San Diego, California for a business Christmas party and celebrated New Year's under the bright fireworks at Disneyland. I, as we all were, was excited for the new year. Come February, I had signed up for the GRE, organized my classes for the new semester at school, and had begun to apply to Grad school. I was in my first relationship and I had a blossoming circle of friends. My 21st birthday was coming at the end of the month and I was ready to go bar hopping in Boston. Everything was going fine, until it wasn't.

Towards the end of February I came down with a cough. A cough followed by a headache, a fever, body weakness, chest pain, shortness of breath, and you guessed it, loss of taste. I worked in a clinic where I had sat in on a patient who (we didn't really know at the time) had come from Italy with shortness of breath and a fever. They were admitted to the hospital with low O2 sats and the doctors concluded that they had "viral pneumonia". COVID-19 tests were not in use at this point. So in the same way he had viral pneumonia, I was told it must be the flu (even though I tested negative). I was lucky and recovered in two weeks time. Unfortunately, it coincided with a lot of change. I was forced out of my apartment, kicked off my college campus, bought two plane tickets to go to my family's home half-way across the country, canceled my GRE, lost my job, and was put into a long-distance relationship.

The first few months went, well, not the best. I was alone most of the time. I didn't see anyone besides my mom and sister. I struggled to complete my semester online and I signed up for the GRE online. I went through a large period of depression, which then led to extreme anxiety and panic attacks (still working through today haha). At the end of it though, something changed, I changed.

In June, I traveled back up to Boston in a car with my sister. I spent the summer with my friends and did all of the things I wanted to. I got my job back and invested the rest of my time in all things "life". I started to discover my passions and what I wanted in life. I began to write, read, paint, and play the piano. I learned the Ukulele, ran a half-marathon, traveled to New York, Maine, and New Hampshire. I started hiking, went vegan, learned how to make bread, and educated myself on finance. I started a foodstagram, made a blog, and dabbled in modeling. I celebrated the Fourth of July, Memorial Day, Veterans Day, and Halloween. I made sure to make the most of every day because you never know when it will be your last.

2020 gave me a lot of downs, but without it, I don't think I would have experienced as much as I did. I don't think I would have discovered as much about myself if I had just followed suit with my life. There is something to be said when all the distractions are taken away. I was able to find what I valued in life and ways in which I can be happy and for that reason, I thank 2020 for just being 2020.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Rachel K

Hey y'all! Wecome to my page of quite literally whatever comes to my mind. I am a senior at Tufts Unversity majoring in STEM. Unfortunatley, that doesn't give me a bunch of room for creative writing! Just trying to bring light to the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.