Motivation logo

15+ Methods to Overcome Depression and Motivate Yourself

If you want you can come out of demotivation

By Subhash KumarPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
3
Motivate Yourself

Even the most motivated of us – you, me, Tony Robbins – can feel demotivated at times. Even, sometimes we can feel so low that even thinking about positive change becomes very difficult.

But it's not hopeless: By taking small steps, you can get back on the road to positive change.

Yes, I know, sometimes it seems impossible. You don't feel like doing anything. This has happened to me too, in fact I still feel this way from time to time. you're not alone . But I've learned a few ways out of this disappointment, and we'll take a look at them today.

When I am unable to exercise due to illness, injury or any other problem going on in life, then it is difficult to start it again. Sometimes, I don't even want to think about that. But I always find some way to overcome that feeling, and here are some such things that prove to be helpful for me.

1. One Goal

Whenever I've been a bit down, I've found that it's often because there's too much going on in my life at once. I try to do a lot. And it drains my energy and motivation. This is probably the most common mistake people make: they try to do too many things at once. If you try to achieve two or more goals at a time, then you are not able to maintain your energy and focus. I am try many times, its not possible. You have to choose one goal for now, and focus completely on it. I find it difficult, but I am telling from my own experience. Once you have achieved your target set now, then after that you can achieve the rest of your goals.

2. Find Inspiration

I get inspiration from people who have already achieved what I want to do, or people who are doing what I want to do. I read other's blogs, books, magazines. Vocal Media is one such place, not only from me but from many other readers who have received wonderful things.

3. Get Excited

This sounds like an obvious thing to do, but most people don't think much about it: If you want to overcome despair, get excited about a goal. But if you don't feel motivated then how will you feel excited? Well, it starts with taking inspiration from others, but you have to take enthusiasm from others and turn it into your own energy. I've found that by talking to my wife and other people, reading as much about it as possible, and visualizing it ( By seeing the benefits of achieving the goal in my mind, how it would feel to be successful, I feel excited. Once this is done, there is only a need to carry this energy forward and move forward.

4. Build Anticipation Expect

This may sound a bit difficult, and many people will skip this tip. But it really works. After many unsuccessful attempts, due to this tip, I was able to quit smoking cigarettes. If you get the motivation to achieve your goal, then do not try to achieve it immediately. Many of us would like to start our work by being excited. This is a mistake. Set a future date – a week or two later, or even a month – and make that your start date. Mark it on the calendar. Get excited about that date. Make it the most important date of your life. In the meantime, make your plan.

5. Post your goal Publish your goal

Take out a big print of your goal. Write down your goal in a few words, like a mantra ("Exercise 15 mins. Daily"), and stick it on your wall or fridge. Put it in your office in your home and put it on the desktop of your computer. You want to set big reminders for your goals, so that you can focus on your goal and be excited about it. It can also be helpful to put a picture related to your goal.

6. Commit Publicly

No one wants to look bad in front of others. We make extra effort to do what we have said publicly. For example, when I wanted to run my first marathon, I started writing a column about it in my local newspaper. The entire population of Guam came to know about this goal of mine. Now I could not hold back, although my motivation kept increasing, but I kept on holding on to this goal and finished the race. You do not need to commit your goal in any newspaper, but you can share it with your family, friends, and You can tell co-workers, and if you have a blog, you can write about it on that too. And hold yourself responsible - don't commit just once, but update your progress every week or month to everyone. Commit to do the same.

7. Think about it daily

If you think about your goal every day, then the chances of achieving it are much higher. That's why it is helpful to put your target on the wall or on the desktop. It is also helpful to send a reminder to yourself every day. And if you do this small task even for just five minutes every day, then it is almost certain that your goal will be accomplished.

8. Get Support. get help

It is difficult to achieve something alone. When I decided to run the marathon, I had the support of friends and family, as well as a good community of runners in Guam who would run with me and encourage me. When I wanted to quit smoking, I joined an online forum, which was very helpful for me. And in this work my wife Eva supported me at every step. I wouldn't have been able to do this without her and other people's help. Find your support network near you or online or both.

9. Realize that there's an ebb and flow

Motivation is not something that is always with you. It comes, goes and comes again, like a tide. Understand that even if it goes away, it doesn't go away forever. Motivation comes back. Just stick to your goal and wait for the motivation to come back. In the meantime, read about your goal, ask for help from others, and do some of the other things mentioned here until your motivation comes back.

10. Stick with it. keep it up

Whatever you do, don't give up. Even if you are not feeling motivated at all today or this week, but don't give up on your goal. Your motivation will come back again. Think of your goal as a long journey, and the demotivation that comes in between is just a speed-breaker. You don't give up on the journey when small pearls come across obstacles. Stay connected with your goal for a long time, overcome the ups and downs and you will reach there.

11. Start small. Really small

If you're having trouble getting started, it's probably because you're thinking too big. If you want to exercise, you might be thinking of working out intensely five days a week. No - take small baby steps instead. Just exercise for two minutes. I know this might sound strange to you. It's so easy, you can't fail. But you do it. Just a few crunches, 2 pushups, and a little jogging right there. When you have done this for 2 minutes for a week, then increase it to five minutes, and do it for a week. In a month you will start doing 15-20 minutes. Want to wake up early? Don't think of getting up at five in the morning, instead you get up 10 minutes earlier for a week. Once you've done this, get up 10 minutes more early. Baby Steps.

12. Build on small successes

Once again, if you start with a small goal for a week, you will be successful. If you start with something very easy, then you cannot fail. Well, who can not exercise for two minutes? (If you are that, then I apologize) and you will feel successful, you will feel good from inside. With this feeling, keep taking more small steps. For example: Add two-three minutes to your exercise routine. With each step (and each step should last at least a week), and you will feel more successful. Keep each step very short and you will not fail. After two months, your small steps will bring you lots of progress and success.

13. Read about it daily. read about it everyday

When I lose my motivation, I read a book or blog related to my goal. It inspires me and makes me strong. Whatever you study for some reason motivates you in that subject and helps you to concentrate. So read about your goal daily if you can, especially when you are not feeling motivated.

14. Call for help when your motivation ebbs

there is a problem? Ask for help Email me. Join any online forum. Find a partner for yourself. Call your mother. It does not mean who is in front, just tell your problem, it will be helpful for you to talk about it. Ask for their advice. Ask them to help you out of the demotivated state. it work.

15. Think about the benefits, not the difficulties. Think about the benefits, not the troubles

There is a common problem that we think about how difficult something is. It's so hard to exercise! Just thinking about it makes you tired. But think about how difficult something is instead of thinking how many benefits it has. For example, instead of thinking how hard it is to exercise; think about how much better you will feel after doing it, and how healthier and slimmer you will be in the long run. The benefits of something will energize you.

16. Squash negative thoughts; replace them with positive ones. Drop negative thoughts and replace them with positive thoughts

It is important to monitor your thoughts. Identify the negative self-talk you do that is actually demotivating you. Just spend a few days knowing what negative thoughts are in you, and then after a few days get them out like a bug, and then replace them with the corresponding positive thoughts. If you think "this is too hard" replace it with "I can do this". If that Leo can do it, so can I! It sounds a bit awkward, but it works. Really.

happiness
3

About the Creator

Subhash Kumar

I write about Business, Motivational, Lifestyle and Self-development.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.