Motivation logo

1 on 1 with Queen’s finest Rai Smith

1 on 1 with Queen’s finest Rai Smith

By Jason James Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your artist's name and where are you from?

Rai Smith from Hollis, Queens, New York

Why do you love music?

Music is communication. I love that sometimes the best way for me to describe what I'm feeling is through song. It’s a little weird but melody and sonic energy can often translate feelings a little bit better than a regular conversation. Music gives me a chance to say things that might not be the easiest for me to say. When I get behind a mic, it’s therapy. There are no limitations, there’s nothing holding me back, it's like the mic is amplifying my mind, soul and body to relay the message. I can be honest without ridicule because it’s my art. I honor and respect my process; sharing it only feels right.

What makes you different as a music artist?

Talent + skill set is important, I'm just more passionate about community, my community in particular. To collaborate, open doors, provide opportunities are all what set me apart. My charisma and character are very evident for sure but I want people to take away how much aid was given to others, how many lives did we impact or improve. It’s an honor to be able to influence another individual, to take your lessons and life to pass them on to others. I do it for my daughter constantly and I believe it’s also important to do that amongst your peers. Community is what makes me unique, because I make it a priority, I feed my people before I eat, that’s how I was raised. I win when my team wins.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In 5 years , North District, my record label, is not only developing artists but providing them with resources to build and operate their own conglomerates. I, of course, see myself internationally known and carving the way to becoming a household name. I'm just also excited about helping others find their sound, their voice and sharing that with the masses. Primarily women and we get to the men as we grow. I want women to have more, especially in this industry and if I can help facilitate that I'm all for it. I experienced so much, as we all do, and I think any respectable artist can say if they had someone showing them certain resources or just to have another person as a soundboard and problem solver there’s mistakes they would’ve avoided. North District will serve as a resource of wisdom, knowledge and development for artists. I am very passionate about it and I know the upcoming years will bring myself and my team closer to executing these goals.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

Peace and success. With what comes in this industry is cool, but I want to look out and see my family, my team, my tribe happy and taken care of. When I say success, I don't solely mean the riches and notoriety, I'm also referring to peace of mind, appreciation of life, wisdom, and legacy. We did this for nothing if our impact doesn't live forever.

What do you bring to the music world?

Versatility , originality, and more feeling. Music needs a little more depth right now. The times have us masking how we feel behind photos and captions, but I want to bring back energy that is all encompassing. I want people listening to my music, on a roller coaster of emotions; success , desire, ambition, fun but also love, pain, triumph. I want my audience to feel it all.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I want to be remembered as a certain energy. I want to be known for the mood and atmosphere I bring to people's lives. When a person wants to be inspired or think about their lover, I want them to use my music as a bridge to those emotions they feel. I want to help other artists do the same, leave a real imprint on the world. Move with elevation in mind always.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.