Men logo

Men's Guide to Coping with Grief Part Two

Pull Yourself Up!

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
8
Men's Guide to Coping with Grief Part Two
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

This is Part Two of my unintentional series Men's Guide to Coping with Grief.

Here's a link to the first part of Men's Guide to Coping with Grief

Let me tell you guys this is not a text book guide on grief. We've all been there and read that.

What I'm sharing here does not come from research or a medical website. I am sharing my heart. My real life experiences.

Pull Yourself Up!

Who says a guy can't be "in the dumps"? Let's face it, we guys can get as depressed as anybody else.

What do you do about it when you feel so blue that you want to hide and stay in bed all day, maybe even all week?

You've gotta pull yourself out of it somehow.

You have to intentionally get yourself up and out of the blues.

I've tried a few methods of pulling myself up out of that dark space. The following are a few I've tried and their results.

Comfort Food

I tried the route of comfort food. For the longest time my diet had been pristine - veggies, lean meats, whole grains, berries, spirulina, and tons of water.

After my brother passed away, I quit my job in order to care for my mom. I spiraled downward straight for rock bottom.

I needed comfort. I had to do something I enjoy. That thing I chose to do was EAT. I gave myself permission to have one cheat day per week. It was Wednesday. I looked forward to Wednesday. Dreaming of ice cream, chocolate, extra big salad, cheeseburger, pizza, whatever I wanted. It was great. But when Thursday rolled around I was back on my 2,000 calorie a day diet.

This worked out fine for a while and Comfort Food Wednesday was a bright spot in my week. Not only was the act of eating pleasant but the cooking/food prep was delightful. Then I allowed a second cheat day on Saturday. That was still okay. But then I added Monday, then Tuesday and before I knew it my old diet was completely replaced with overeating whatever I wanted. Finally eight months later I woke up. I went from 175 pounds in February 2021 to 203 pounds in November 2021. Almost 30 pounds gained. I was always full and uncomfortable. I felt unattractive. My comfort food became drudgery.

I got the eating back in control and in a few months I was down to 185 pounds (at 5 foot 10 inches). But, since my grief is ongoing I have troubles controlling my eating. Right now I'm at 190 pounds and I am at an upward projection with the eating, meaning I will gain more weight if I don't turn this around.

The thing that helps me the most is an app called MyFitnessPal. It takes a bit of work as the app figures out the maximum calories you can take in and still lose weight. You have to input all the food you eat each day and the calories are totaled for you. This app helps you to be accountable for your food intake.

I need to start using MyFitnessPal again, right away.

Comfort food is great if you can keep it to just one day a week.

What are your favorite comfort foods?

Phone a Friend

Calling a friend (talking with anyone) is a great way to get out of that funk. Sometimes though it can push you further into the dumps when you've called five friends and all you get is their voicemail. But don't let that prevent you from trying because talking with another person is the best therapy you can get.

Watch a Movie

Watching a movie is great therapy as it has the potential to redirect your mind for about two hours. One of my favorites is the cult classic Tuff Turf. This is the first film in which James Spader had the lead role. This was also one of Robert Downey, Jr's first starring roles. The film was released in 1985 and it's sheer fun. I like seeing those 1980s clothes and hairstyles. The biggest attraction is the great music. Other favorites are Empire Records, Pretty in Pink, Johnny Suede, Being John Malkovich, The Talented Mr. Ripley, The Martian, Re-Animator, and the list goes on.

What are some of your favorite films?

Exercise

I am ending this with exercise. Other than talking with a friend, exercise is probably the very best therapy you can get. It feels good to move your body and stretch out all the kinks. The breathing you do while exercising helps to send those good feeling endorphins to your brain.

I do is three 5 minute workouts throughout the day. Lately though I haven't been successful at completing all three. But, I'm still getting at least one five minute segment in. I do walking in place, jogging in place, jumping jacks, a variety of low impact cardio, and so forth.

Of course I get the music going for these workouts. Lately I've been hooked on Antonio Carlos Jobim's album Wave. The bossa Nova rhythm is both relaxing and energizing. The track Captain Bacardi coming in at 4 ½ minutes is almost perfect for the five minute workout.

That's it friends… I truly hope that if you're in a funk, you can find even the smallest amount of gumption to pull yourself out of it.

With Love, RHC

WisdomMen's PerspectivesManhoodLifestyleIssuesInspirationHealthGeneralEmpowermentBrotherhood
8

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    Great piece thank you ❤️ I don't agree with the eating to deal with grief though. You missed one - cry! Crying has a physiological purpose for the human body.

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    👏☺️ I’ve never heard of Tuff turf, but I love Empire records too as well as Malkovich! Thanks for the tips. 😁

  • Great article, Rick. Hope things are going better.

  • Rene Peters10 months ago

    Thank you for sharing what helps you! I'm sure it will help others as well.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Rick, your personal perspective advice is fantastic!!! Eating comfort food, talking to a friend, watching a movie, and exercising are excellent ways to cope with grief. Especially liked the MyFitnessPal app!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • It is nice seeing a man's perspective on grief. Far too often men shy away from really confronting what's going on in their lives and refuse to seek help, especially through therapy, thinking that mental health is some far out concept or a challenge to their "manhood." Thanks for sharing your experiences.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    My favorite comfort food when depression takes over is fried chicken and fried taters. Not very healthy, but it sure tastes good. Thank you for sharing this. I know it will help a lot of people.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.