Marriage logo

When Wedding Stops

......

By LeeannPublished about a year ago 3 min read
When Wedding Stops
Photo by Hisu lee on Unsplash

Exciting!

beautiful!

perfect.

These are the words that come to mind when I think of my friend's wedding day.

It was a hot summer day in July, and I was standing outside of the church waiting for my friend's wedding to begin. The sun was beating down on my skin, and I was starting to sweat through my dress. I checked my phone for the time, and that's when I saw it - a text message from my boyfriend that read, "We need to talk."

My heart sank. I knew what that meant. We had been having problems for a while, but I had been hoping that we could work through them. I tried to push the thought out of my mind and focus on the wedding, but I couldn't shake the feeling of dread that was creeping over me.

As I sat through the ceremony, I felt myself becoming more and more distracted. I kept checking my phone, waiting for my boyfriend to text me back. I couldn't concentrate on the vows or the music or the beautiful decorations. All I could think about was what was going to happen when I left the church.

When the ceremony was over, I rushed outside to find a quiet corner where I could call my boyfriend. He answered on the first ring, and his voice was cold and distant. He told me that he didn't think our relationship was working and that he wanted to break up.

I felt like the world had stopped. The sounds of the wedding guests laughing and chatting faded away, and all I could hear was the pounding of my own heart. I tried to keep my composure, but tears were streaming down my face, and I was struggling to catch my breath.

I walked back into the reception, feeling like a zombie. I couldn't bear the thought of talking to anyone, so I found a table in the back of the room and sat down. The wedding guests were dancing and laughing and enjoying themselves, but I was in my own little world of pain and heartbreak.

It wasn't until later that evening, when the reception was winding down, that something shifted inside of me. I looked around the room and saw all of the happy couples, dancing and holding hands and smiling at each other. And I realized that I didn't want to be alone. I didn't want to be the girl sitting in the back of the room, crying over a broken relationship.

"Sometimes the most painful moments in life can become our greatest turning points. Don't let heartbreak define you, let it fuel your strength and guide you to your own happiness."

In that moment, I made a decision. I was going to take control of my life and my happiness. I was going to stop waiting for someone else to make me feel loved and fulfilled, and I was going to start creating my own happiness.

"True happiness comes from within, not from someone else. Don't wait for someone to complete you, find your own completeness and radiate that joy to the world."

Over the next few months, I threw myself into my passions - writing, traveling, and spending time with my friends and family. I took risks, tried new things, and embraced every opportunity that came my way. And slowly but surely, I started to feel like myself again.

Looking back on that hot summer day, I realize that it was a turning point in my life. It was a moment of pain and heartbreak, but it was also a moment of clarity and strength. It was the moment when I realized that I didn't need someone else to complete me - I was already complete on my own.

Since then, I've had my fair share of ups and downs in my personal life, but I've never forgotten the lessons that I learned on that day. I've learned to value my own happiness and to never settle for less than I deserve. And I've learned that sometimes, the most important moments in life are the ones that seem the smallest at the time.

"Remember that you are the author of your own story. Don't let heartbreak be the final chapter, let it be the plot twist that sets you on the path to your greatest adventure."

Glad you took the time to read, now my story is complete!

travelwedding invitationsringsproposalgroomsgifts and registryfood and drinksfashion and beautyceremony and receptionbridal party

About the Creator

Leeann

✨Storyteller by heart ✨Wordsmith by trade ✨Ready to craft compelling content that captivates and inspires. 📚🖋️ Let's create something amazing together!"💻👩‍💻

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LeeannWritten by Leeann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.