Marriage logo

Unexpected Happiness

Eloping is the best thing I've ever done

By KPPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Unexpected Happiness
Photo by Drew Coffman on Unsplash

I married my husband amid Covid-19. It was not planned whatsoever. We have known each other since we were in middle school and this pandemic reminded us that we are living on borrowed time. We talked about marriage very briefly because I was not sure that it was something, I wanted to do but I knew I wanted a future with him. Marriage had always been so weird to me simply because of how it started. The idea of being with someone forever was never the issue, till death do us part does have a nice ring to it.

My husband and I woke up one day and I turned to him and said, “You want to get married today?” It was obviously out of nowhere and he was a little caught off guard. I never wanted the big wedding dress, guest that I do not like, or a ceremony. We went to a court and did the thing. It was short and to the point but we both cried while saying our vows and wore our favorite converse and jean jackets. We did this on our own, no witnesses, just us two, how we thought it should be.

By One zone Studio on Unsplash

Weddings seem to be stressful and not something I would enjoy planning or going through with it myself. Most weddings that I have attended or been a part of the bride never seems to enjoy her time until after all the items in the itinerary are done with. Bridezillas are very real and very scary. Most weddings never seem to be about the couple but more about the audience. Are big traditional wedding ever about the couple? To me they never seem to be. I never wanted my wedding to be so stressful that I feel like I cannot enjoy it to the fullest. I wanted to look back on my wedding day and remember it as it should be, happy and stress free. I do not normally handle stress well so I know that going down that route was not an option. I knew that my parents would expect something more than I wanted. I knew that they would find a way to make me feel guilty about not wanting a big wedding, not wanting to invite certain people, and not wanting to a princess style dress.

My family and I have never seen eye to eye and since I got married, my family has been pressuring me to have a baby. Another thing I am not quite sure I want at this moment, especially not during this time. There is constant pressure and I know that my family is incredibly happy for me but they still want the traditional aspect of what comes with a marriage. I do not think they will ever understand who I am or ever truly respect my decisions but they know they must respect it.

By Olivia Bauso on Unsplash

We have both been extremely happy and do not regret our decision to elope. We decided that we wanted to have a small little celebration on Halloween because it is our favorite holiday. We are not getting our hopes up that Covid-19 would be over but we are hoping to just have our immediate families there.

Traditional celebrations are not my thing if you could not already tell. Instead of a white dress I will be wearing a black dress. Obviously not a big round princess wedding dress but a flowy dress. My mother would never approve nor would she be happy about it but the only person I am willing to compromise with is my husband.

I love being married. I love my husband. Most of all I love that I eloped. Saved money and still married the love of my life.

By freestocks on Unsplash

ceremony and reception
1

About the Creator

KP

The most exciting thing about me are my cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.