Marriage logo

After Wedding Thoughts

Thoughts I Have After Getting Married

By Ada ZubaPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
2
After Wedding Thoughts
Photo by Marius Muresan on Unsplash

I see myself as someone who is very traditional and conservative. I did not live with my husband before I married him, we traveled together, and I got to see how he handles stressful situations to relaxing by the pool or beach with him and that was all I needed in order to figure out if I can marry him. Then, in February of 2023 he proposed to marry me, I dove right into the midst and deep end of planning out my wedding, I did most of it myself, paid for it myself. 7 months later we came to September, and it was finally our big day. The day really does go by so fast, in the moment you want to take it all in and have no distractions. The things is, is that I dreamed of getting married since I knew what the word marriage meant. I would pretend that my toys would have weddings and get married. When I was about twenty, I had created my own Pinterest board of wedding ideas. Then, my oldest sister got married and I got to witness and be a part of planning her day and putting in a lot of effort and hours towards that. It was so much fun, but I saw how stressed out a bride can be, that only further encouraged me to narrow down ideas of my dream wedding. Years, later and my other sister got married and it was not very stressful for me, because she and her husband and roommate planned it from top to bottom all I was expected to do was to show up and that's exactly what I did.

Then, it was finally my turn to plan my wedding. my wedding was on time, we started exactly at 12:30 pm as planned. The rest of the day went by smoothly, we took photos and did not eat until reception, I got to dance, and I got blisters on my feet, but it was all worth it. I had an amazing time with amazing food and great people to spend time with. It was better than I had imagined. After the hype of the wedding and the excitement boils down there are some after wedding thoughts.

After all the years of dreaming and planning I have come to a weird state in my life, because now what? This was my life dream, and I went out and did it. Seriously, what do I do now? I can't think of a new dream. You might say well what about your honeymoon? Well, I got back about a week and a half ago. I put in many hours of planning and daydreaming and now that it's done, I have no idea what to do with myself.

Waking up next to my husband every day is really nice, I wake up and he's there sleeping next to me, it's a bit weird. I am sharing a bed with a man, and I am no longer sleeping alone in a twin bed. I suddenly feel grown up somehow. I have taken on more responsibility by cooking dinners every night and making sure the kitchen is clean. It's a very odd feeling to have a husband that comes home to you every night. This is what real adulting is, I was fake adulting until now. I finally settled down and even just calling him my husband has been very satisfying, but it aged me, I suddenly realized I am turning thirty this year. I am reaching a big milestone in my life.

Now, I am wearing a wedding ring and an engagement ring, I still get distracted by the shine of it, and my husband cannot stop playing with his. I still cannot get over how beautiful it is.

After wedding blues? yes, I can see them as being real, but I do not have the blues, it's just now that the wedding is over, I need to figure out what to do with myself and what my next dream can be. Maybe I can travel Europe? see more of the world? All I know is that I will have a great marriage and we will have many more adventures together.

ceremony and reception
2

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.