Longevity logo

Yogis of Instagram: Your Guide on Who to Follow

My Personal Favourite Accounts to Follow for Inspiration and General Admiration...

By Samantha BentleyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Instagram has become a mecca for yogis and yoga admirers over the past year or so. With huge companies dishing out large pay checks to Yoga teachers and traveling yogis so that they will wear their clothes, Yoga is now more beautiful and more accessible than ever.

Sure, we’d all love our practice to be handstands in Hawaii or backbends in Bali, but since that is sometimes not possible (mine are way more like trying to headstand in the rain, on London Fields, or tripping over my dogs in my tiny Dalston flat), but Instagram gives me inspiration at my finger tips; new poses, travel ideas, and future business plans (retreats coming literally as soon as I get out of rehabbing my injury).

There will always be a few nay sayers that think the spiritual practice of Yoga is being ‘lost’ or disrupted by this newfound social media presence. I disagree. As a ten year Yogi, and teacher of Vinyasa, Yin, and Aerial Yoga, I think it’s great, no, AMAZING that Yoga has become this new fad or obsession and is bringing more and more people together, inspiring a new generation of Yoga lovers. Health is becoming more of a focus in the media and it is important to carry on that conversation and inspire people to want to get fitter and healthier, both mentally and physically.

Yes, Yoga is changing with the times. The ancient and spiritual practice still exists, but the modern Western World has created new, more easily accessible versions of Yoga. It is moving in accordance to what the Western world needs and wants. Some don’t like it and that’s fine. May they ride horses instead of driving cars and throw their iPhone away and begin writing letters for correspondence...but seriously, I completely understand that an ancient spiritual practice such as Yoga should be preserved and held in high regard, but I also believe it is important for everyone to be able to enjoy and get involved in some of the benefits Yoga holds, the physical (great flexibility, improved posture, recovery from injury, correcting poor breathing technique) and mental (calming, relaxing, meditation), and for that it needs a more mainstream, accessible media approach….

I am currently off work with a torn hamstring tendon injury (over splits without warming up, why do teachers never take their own advice?). It sucks. I can’t practice, I can meditate, but that’s about it, and for someone that loves to work and has A LOT of nervous energy to burn, I need something that calms me and makes me happy, and for me, that is looking at other Yogis on Instagram. I can spend hours and hours getting lost on there. I love to look at new poses and flows. I save everything I want to try for myself or in my classes. I find it therapeutic, especially when going through a debilitating injury like mine, to think to the future when I WILL be back on my mat/in the air again!

These Yogis offer advice, online classes, ebooks, retreats, recipes, and discount codes for companies along with their beautiful poses…

I’m actually going to start off by saying that if you are a budding or seasoned Yogi, use my code SJ10 for 10 percent off all Yogi Bare products.

Yogi Bare Paws mat

Here they are, my favourite instagram Yogis to follow.....

Hannah Haller

Instagram: GypsyOn

Cat Meffan

Instagram: Cat Meffan

Andrea Taylor

Instagram: Move_Yo_Asana

Kenzie

Instagram: Yogoskenz

Kristen Rose Provenché

Instagram: Kristenpro

Gaby

Instagram: My Little Yogi

Jessica Olie

Instagram: Jessica Olie

Gaby Lanz

Instagram: Gaby_Om

Aubry Marie

Instagram: Aubrey Marie

Ashley Galvin

Instagram: Ashley Galvin Yoga

Nicole Woyak

Instagram: Nwoy

Riva G

Instagram: Riva_G_

yoga
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Bentley

Born and Bred Londoner, Mother to baby Roman and my two pooches, Plant Eater, Yoga and Aerial Teacher + Learner, Music Maker... was once in Game Of Thrones, was once a Penthouse Pet, used to win awards for getting naked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.