Longevity logo

World Autism Awareness Day 2020

Where hope and inspiration happens

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

The month of April has arrived and there are two reasons why this month is personal to me: it’s Autism Awareness Month and today is World Autism Awareness Day. Autism Awareness Month was first recognized by the United Nations General Assembly in 2007. Autism Spectrum Disorder, or ASD, affects 1 in 59 children. Boys are four times affected as girls. For those who aren’t familiar with who I am, I’m on the autism spectrum. I was interviewed by Vocal for their Creator Spotlight feature about two weeks ago. They were asking about things such as cosplay and why I’m passionate about different causes. Autism awareness is one of those causes. Here’s a little bit about myself and why this month is so important to me.

When I was five years old, I was diagnosed with Autism. My parents and teachers noticed that something wasn’t right about me. So I had to do some tests and I’ve learned of my diagnosis. From Pre-K through my junior year of high school, I was in special education classes. In my early 20s, I was diagnosed with Aspergers and also with Persuasive Developmental Disorder-Not Otherwise Specified, or PDD-NOS. My autism is mild, meaning that it can be difficult for anyone to make friends. The term mild autism can also mean that an individual has advanced communication skills and academic abilities, but have delayed social skills. When I first started school in the early 90s, I had a hard time making friends and lacked eye contact. As an adult, I still have those difficulties.

Many people believe that individuals with Autism or any intellectual disorder are dumb or able to have a regular life. That is not the case. I was made fun of for my autism diagnosis and for being in special education classes by my peers in school. However, as the years went on, their taunts motivated me to do bigger and better things. If you’re on the spectrum, I just want to let you know that you are important, loved, and respected. You have the ability to reach new heights and succeed. Never let anyone discourage you from achieving your dreams. If you ever need a friend, my social media pages are always open.

There are some ways you can support someone who has Autism. Some examples include attending an autism friendly event, learning the history of autism, joining an autism Facebook group or page, and supporting anti-bullying initiatives.

I hope this article has inspired you to be an ally for autistic people. To me, being on the autism spectrum is not a bad thing. It benefits me in a positive way where I can be an inspiration to others and share my story. I’ve achieved great things in my life, such as winning two cosplay contests. I cosplay to inspire people, not for fame. Using my platform as a cosplayer to spread awareness about autism is something I never get tired of doing. I don’t define myself by the number of followers or likes I have. I define myself based on how I treat people and having empathy for others. I’ve had many people message me about how I’m an inspiration to them. That means a lot to me and makes me feel good.

Be sure to follow me on social media. The info to all of my social media pages can be found in my bio. If you enjoyed any of my articles, including this one, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It'll help me and other Vocal content creators to write better stories. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.