Longevity logo

Working from home a piece of cake?

Teleworking Reality Check

By peachick 876Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Working from home a piece of cake?
Photo by Marta Filipczyk on Unsplash

I have been working from home since the end of March 2020 it has been seven months which is crazy right?

My day starts at 7:55 am each morning. I like to sleep until the very last minute. Honestly I have slept in twice since being at home. I just hit snooze on the alarm like ten times my alarm's drive my husband insane. To be honest I don't brush my teeth or wash my face I just roll out of bed and keep my pajamas on all day because why not? It is crazy to think I was an office professional when I was going into the office. I miss the people, the conversations by the water cooler or for my office the Keurig machine.

One of the best parts of my job is working with amazing people who genuinely care about others. My self and some other co-workers are struggling with working from home because it is hard to connect with our co-workers now. We rarely get to see each other some of us find it harder to connect when its not in person. We can call each other which helps. We recently got web-cams so now we can see each others faces it is a great way to connect with each other. Seeing someone by video is not exactly what we are looking for it's just not the same. We cant hug a friend or cry on their shoulder.

Not that I don't love my family, but I don't want tot spend 24 hours a day with them but here we are. I'm doing 25 loads of laundry a day (exaggerating) but (really) if my husband asks. Not to mention I am working from home 40 hours a week. Let's be honest taking care of a toddler is a fulltime job. I am not really sure how I feel sort of trapped in this situation.

They just told us we would be working from home until June 2021 oddly enough they just announced at google they would be doing the same until June 2021 as well. At first I thought working from home was great but it has increasingly become more difficult. I have 5 children. Yes I realize that was my choice but at this point, what was I thinking? I love my family don't get me wrong.

I have a toddler who is about two and a half. Please don't get me started on terrible two's that is a whole story in itself. It sounds like I am complaining but really I am just venting to who ever will listen. My daughter (toddler) is a tornado. She actually went through a phase about a year ago when she was done with her food she would just throw it on the floor. We are doing better now. Luckily I have 4 older children to help with her. This situation is not perfect definitely far from it. We are in Pandemic, the economy is tanking and I could really use that stimulus check that congress is holding hostage, but that is another story.

I read an article a few months ago that said the Pandemic was sexist. It's true to a point. Women stuck at home are doing more including, cleaning, laundry, child care cooking, teaching and working at the same time. Not that we cant do it let's get some help. How about a Mom or Dad payment. Here is my proposal $1000-$2000 monthly payments to parents who have 1 or more children and need help with child care and other needs. Payments would be automatic each month until the Pandemic is over. I am totally serious people!

If your like me you might have a husband that looses everything. "Honey have you seen my belt?" "Honey have you seen my keys?" At that point I give my husband a lecture about re-tracing his steps to find what he lost. Don't we all do this? So not only do I have to search for items he lost I have to find all of the missing items for the whole family and a toddler who likes to play with kitchen utensils and hide them under the bed. Her favorite is the potato masher, it's comical. I have to laugh about it and it gets me through my day. Although the stress of worrying about getting covid is unheard of laughing helps me cope.

I really don't think I would be complaining about this at all if I could get one of my kids to change a dirty diaper. Don't get me wrong right now my family is safe at home, I get to spend more time with them and my growing toddler. These are all the great things about being at home, but my kids want to go back to school. I want my kids to be safe so I am okay with them doing home from school. Please don't tell them I said that.

Over 225,000 people have died from covid and I am complaining about being stuck at home with my family. I am thankful I have a roof over my head and a job. There is so many people who are not that lucky. There is so many homeless Americans right now dealing with covid without a place to live. That puts things in perspective. So remember to be thankful for what you have there are people with literally nothing and I'll try to follow my own advice.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.