Longevity logo

"Why're You Such a Picky Eater?"

The Coeliac Life

By Meg ClaytonPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

One question I’m constantly asked is “Why are you such a picky eater?” We’re talking nearly every time I go out to eat with friends. Yes, they don’t mean it in a negative way and yes, it’s all light-hearted “banter” but let’s be honest now friends, I’m not a picky eater!

A lot of people don’t really understand what Coeliac Disease is, and to be honest I don’t really blame them. Up until a few years ago I was completely clueless too. I just thought that the incredibly annoying bloating was natural when eating. I always used to tell myself that it was all down to me being an absolute gannet! But apparently bloating to the point you look 4 months pregnant isn’t normal????

I haven’t necessarily always had Coeliac disease, just the annoying bloating and tummy aches. However, in 2011, my body decided to deceive me and I somehow managed to catch Mumps. And from that came a list of issues: A crap immune system, numerous allergies and a face so fat I resembled a walrus (Not that that is necessarily a bad thing). When the fat face had faded my bloating when eating had suddenly developed into something a lot worse. Coeliac Disease. A shock right? Bet none of you had already gotten that vibe…

So, what is Coeliac Disease you may be thinking? Coeliac disease is a life long auto immune disease where the small intestine becomes inflamed and unable to absorb nutrients. This is caused by a reaction to gluten of which is a dietary protein found in three types of cereal’s: Barley, Rye and Wheat. Someone can be born with Coeliac Disease or experience a large dip in their immune system, causing the disease to become more prominent.

A lot of the time, people just think that the reaction comes from wheat, something of which I thought originally, however the reaction can be just as bad for Barley and Rye. Oats can also cause a reaction as they sometimes are contaminated with Wheat, Barley and Rye in factories! When someone who has Coeliac Disease eats gluten, their immune system reacts by damaging and wearing away the lining of the small intestine. Yeah.. it isn’t much fun. So when we complain about tummy aches or maybe about the lack of food options, this is why!

Now for an awkward “talking about my ex” story. Like a lot of my friends, my ex used to poke fun at my poor stomach and frequently used to tell me to just “treat myself” Now, I understand that gluten foods are tasty as hell. I know chocolate cake is extra spongy with your wheat flour, I understand that Maccies, KFC and Burger King are all delicious but trust me, they’re not worth the pain! This isn’t me slagging the poor guy off. He, like many others, just didn’t understand what the issue was! And THIS is why I’ve started this blog, to help others who maybe aren’t educated with eating requirements.

I’ve also started this to help newbies! I know from personal experience that it’s bloody hard getting into a gluten free diet! Especially if you have no idea what to buy, where to buy and if you’re on a budget! When I was first diagnosed there were literally a few loaves of bread and pasta available and only the top supermarkets (who, for the record, used to charge disgusting prices!). So, with 5 years of gluten free experience, I thought I’d begin writing this blog again to help others. Not only that, but I have so much more spare time on my hands now I’ve graduated.

Now, I don’t know about you guys, but I quite like having my innards in tact and hole free. So until my next post, here is a little advice.

If you’re ever dining with a Coeliac please bear in mind:

  1. No, we’re not picky eaters. A lot of the time, we’re absolute gannets (though I speak more for myself there). And trust me, we really wish we could be sharing your lovely warm cookie dough or newly baked bread.
  2. There is no such things as “treating” ourselves to a bit of gluten. Having a belly harder than a rock and seeing the food leave us quicker than it was put into our bellies really isn’t something we’re a fan of, even if it does mean we can enjoy a bit of chocolate cake.
  3. Please don’t complain or point out how annoying the process is for us. We’re already dead embarrassed that so much effort and fuss is made over our dietary requirements. I can speak for us all when I say, it’s already so embarrassing having to have the manager of an eatery check every single ingredient in every single dish for us. Even more so when they huff and puff at your small questions. So adding your ten penneth in reaaaaally isn’t needed.
  4. Help us check what the ingredients are in things! We sometimes have to waste a good ten minutes checking things so having pals help us out is always heartwarming, even if you have no clue what you’re looking for.
lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Meg Clayton

Hey!

I’m Meg, a 21 year old film graduate who’s currently selling bath bombs and soap for Lush whilst trying to find herself in this very weird post-graduation, adult world. I enjoy writing and passing on knowledge.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.