Longevity logo

Why My Red Fleece Blanket Completes My Cozy Corner

Moments in My Other Realm

By Marilyn GloverPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Photo: My cozy corner featuring Max and Alice

I live in an apartment in Central New York with my two youngest children. It is a decent sized space but we have accumulated a lot of stuff since moving in three years ago. Although my apartment is tidy I feel crowded at times as roaming room has become limited with the addition of new furniture. I have a computer/ desk work area set up in the living room for writing but sometimes this just does not work for me. Sometimes I just want to retreat into my own little world and that little world is my bedroom. Although a tight dwelling, it is my very own corner; my escape. A red fleece blanket gifted to me by my Mum and Dad at Christmas has put the final touches on an area I often refer to as the “other realm”.

The addition of my new red fleece blanket has been the missing piece that my room so dearly needed. Eye popping and attention grabbing, the aura of my bedroom is now complete. Yes, indeed a tight space but this is no concern at all because the comfort level is what I am seeking. A reversible blanket which is red on one side and white fleece on the other, keeps me feeling not only nice and warm for sleeping but happy and secure. After all, blankets are often associated with security and comfort and the term “security blanket” is not limited to children as animals and adults find attachments to them as well.

Speaking of animals, my two cats have grown quite attached to my red fleece blanket. No sooner than unwrapped from the packaging and spread across my bed did my two furry friends claim their official spots. Cats love blankets no matter the season and my two cuddle friends are always welcome in my space. I imagine that the mid-day sun only entices them even more as her ray’s peeking in through the window heat up the blanket lulling lazy cats into a siesta. As an early morning riser, I often join my pals for" forty winks" to recharge my batteries or as a meditation session invoking peace.

Black and red are my favorite colors. I favor dark furniture and it is a reoccurring theme throughout my apartment. My bedroom is primarily black and red décor with splashes of white and grey. Black and red as a combination has quite the sexual appeal with black associated with sophistication and red with passion but this is only partially the allure. Red is also associated with energy, love, appetite and blood and black is also linked to mystery and all things dark and evil. For me, a Scorpio, these are my signature colors and they always bring out the creative spirit in me that needs a little kick start every now and again.

I have a larger than life imagination and can recall from childhood my earliest inspiration coming from fairytales. Sleeping Beauty was my favorite story followed by Cinderella and Snow White. My very first book according to my Mum was “The Three Little Pigs.” As she read to me I would chant along “Blow that down.” I vaguely remember those Storytime hours of my three year old self and as my childhood progressed my love for fairytales only grew. It is said that fairytales are inspired loosely from actual events and that each story holds a valuable lesson within. Fortunately for me I have never lost my child mind’s view of the world and having a creative atmosphere has remained valuable to me over the years.

I now invite you to enter my personal cozy corner which I often refer to as the other realm. It is a magical place where all things are possible and the only limits are that of the mind. Anytime I need a boost whether it is a mood lifter or inspiration for my next story I simply cross the threshold of my room and instantly I am in a plane of existence of my very own making. Entry by invitation only, of course, unless you are one of my cats but today I offer my hand. I welcome you now to accompany me on an adventure in the other realm.

Let’s take a magic carpet ride!

Photo: Exotic travel/ DepositPhotos

In my room you will find a queen size bed and embellishments of red and black. Grey and white are also added in to break things up a bit. The white Japanese lanterns are my favorite type of lighting as the evening hours approach. My red fleece blanket when not in use as a covering to sleep becomes something else as one of my creative tools in this other realm. With help from my imagination, presto chango, the blanket is now a magic carpet. I now have the ability to go anywhere that my heart desires. I can go back in history, revisit memories of long ago or forge on ahead to the unknown of the future. Whatever it is that I set my mind on I can achieve. With two cats often in tow, we take on many adventures and set out to sights of far off distant lands.

My very first escapade took me to Spain. I remember my Grandmother vacationed there when I was a child and she had a splendid time so I fired up the magic carpet and Max and Alice ( my cats) and I hopped on; up up and away we went. Being my first time I got a bit overly excited and we landed right in a bull ring disturbing the Matador. The flaming red magic carpet ignited the bull’s rage and we quickly became unwilling targets. With one massive flick of the carpet and a vigilant “olé” the cats and I hopped back on our spread; whoosh we were off!

I have since become more aware of the magic carpets’ sensitivity. The next journey had me suited up in my elf gear from this past Christmas and my furry pals and I set off to the North Pole. The red fleece (also magic carpet) temporarily transformed into a red sack that I was bringing to Santa. It was loaded with thank you notes from the holiday and some extra special treats that I baked myself. Santa can never have enough cookies, you know! The cats enjoyed this trip as I had a handle on the magic of the carpet now although I am not so sure how much they were impressed by the reindeer.

Another voyage that is noteworthy is my revisit to my Halloween costume where I played the Malevolent Salem from The American anime RWBY ( also a Vocal Media challenge entry). My furry pals and I cruised through the atmosphere of the fictional land called Remnant. Despite being disguised as Salem I did not fool the monsters called the Grimm and we were immediately banished from their kingdom and denied playing roles in any upcoming episodes.

As you can see my cozy corner or other realm is a center for some pretty creative energy. My red fleece blanket has provided me with a more comfortable night’s sleep and has been a soundboard so to speak triggering creativity from the depths of my mind. Sometimes it is nice to escape the demands of reality and go to a place where anything is possible. For me, stepping across my bedroom threshold provides me with an outlet to travel wherever my thoughts choose to go. Whether alone or accompanied by two very curious cats I am at ease knowing that I have a space besides my computer desk work area to create or to kick back and do absolutely nothing at all. I can be content cuddling cute cats cradling comfortable crimson covers!!

Animation: My elf gear and Salem costume features of escapades in the "other realm"

decor
1

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.