Longevity logo

Why is it a problem if I want to 'cleanse' my body?

Why laugh to your thousands of viewers about it?

By Bushra ShahriarPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Alexander Mils

I have nothing to do during quarantine aside from finishing my degree, relaxing, eating and sleeping as much as I want. Whilst I'm not working, I switch on Youtube and watch whatever I feel like at the time; sometimes true crime stories, stories of missing people and food videos.

There's this one channel on Youtube by a dietitian of the name 'Barbara'*. She reviews other videos on Youtube about food and diets and as she's qualified in the food and diet realm, she enjoys commenting on the good and bad things about the diet in order to educate her viewers. I understand that she's helping by making videos like these and making them informative. Of course, who wouldn't want to know the science behind macros and nutrients and vegetables and all the food things? But I have one issue that regularly pops up in Barb's videos:

Cleansing and detoxing

It sounds incredibly silly, why would that be such a big issue for me to come out of a writing hiatus to go on about cleansing and detoxing? Well, let me complain...

I have no issue with people wanting to cleanse and detox their bodies, or wanting to make your body 'happy and healthy' as one of my friends put it. But Barbara sure seems to. I understand that nutritionists, dietitians and an array of other people will tell you that detoxing and cleansing does nothing for your body and that's perfectly fine. But what's the point in going online and using your qualification as a pass to laugh at young people who share their diet with their viewers?

Yes, there's a problem if the content creator in question is promoting an unhealthy diet full of misinformation; that's a different conversation entirely. But I'm talking about the creators that put one of those disclaimers at the beginning of the video or article, informing the viewer or reader that this is what they've learned their body reacts well to and it may not work for everyone.

The problem lies behind using your knowledge as a way to sit yourself on a higher pedestal to then mock the notion that consuming a green smoothie or starting the day off with a litre of water will help their bodies through the day to come.

The problem lies behind a creator mentioning that after a weekend of letting go of their usual diet, after a big event wherein they have eaten a big meal and drunk a lot, after a holiday where they've tried a different cuisine, they are then having a 'detox day' to reset their bodies and feel healthy again.

The problem lies behind criticising creator after creator under the guise that you're giving 'helpful advice' when there's a running theme in the majority of your own critique videos.

You're mocking a young person who wants to feel good and healthy again after eating unhealthy food or food that their body hasn't responded well to. There's a difference between:

  1. Seeing a creator mention that they're having a 'detox day' and reacting by lowering your head, shaking it whilst disappointedly laughing to yourself to then exclaim that a 'detox' doesn't exist and that you can't seem to mention it enough, and
  2. Accepting that it's a reality for some young people, then proceeding to say something that shows you respect the creator for simply wanting their body to feel good again.

Because I know the way in which I'd like to be criticised...

This did lead me to think that there's a constant in how we all have spoken about someone who's done something we haven't personally agreed with, whether that be part of their personality or a situation in which that person has been involved. And I'm not going to sit here and write rubbish about how disgusting it is that people back-bite and gossip as if I didn't do just that yesterday. I know that plenty of people have said things about me behind my back and as much as I'd like to pretend that any of that hasn't happened, I know it has and will for as long as I'm alive.

But come on, is there really any need to talk crap about someone's diet to a bunch of your viewers? That isn't teaching your viewers a lesson through other people's actions, which is the complete opposite of what you're clearly aiming to achieve. You aren't regarded any higher for saying the same thing Gerald the accountant next door could say just because you have a qualification. I am not going to change the way I view a simple detox day or a self-made detox/cleanse drink because a dietitian says there's no point in beliving it. And I'm not talking about those celebrity-advertised detox teas because, again, that is an entirely different conversation in itself; I mean a drink such as lemon or cucumber water.

I don't mean to sound as if I'm being disrespectful and I'm very aware that people who read this may have had that thought already, I'm just trying to highlight that if it's doing no harm then it shouldn't be something to demean or degrade. Just because you disagree with it and just because you have a qualification to back up the theories and your own comments doesn't mean that you're any more of a person than me or Gerry.

And, if I may add (which I shall), yes I have and will in the future back bite and talk about the wrong-doings of someone I know or have heard about. But I will not broadcast it to my readers without there being a lesson to be learned from it.

I am no higher than the next person you encounter today and quite frankly, you probably aren't either.

*Barbara is simply a name that is in no way connected to the woman I am referring to. I apologise if you are a dietitian named Baraba, I am not referring to you.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Bushra Shahriar

A 22-year-old student studying at Keele University - writer and poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.