Longevity logo

Who did I let myself become

Time for change

By Cheryl Lynn JonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today I had a revelation, and it has set me on a path to try to get healthy again, back to someone I like seeing in a mirror. This is a two edged sword though. You see, I’m a recovered anorexic. I realize that I have struggled with this off and on since I was a teenager, now I am almost 51 and find myself unsure, on the verge of those old habits. And yet, finding the need to be healthier.

Body dismorphia was always a thing for me, I would always look in a mirror and see myself as bigger than I actually was. Somewhere along the line that changed, I have been avoiding looking at myself because I visualize myself as smaller than I am now. Perhaps I recovered too well, I currently weigh more than I have ever weighed and yet I didn’t see myself as a person who weighed what I do now. People my height and my current weight are fat, over weight, obese, whatever you want to call it, but in my minds eye I wasnt any of those. That is, until today! Today I videoed myself in leggings and a sports bra. I saw myself from every angle. I have not taken care of myself at all! I am over weight, and I need to get that back under control.

How do I do that and not go too far? I mean I have a long way to go before I can possibly go too far, but I don’t want to end up back at the beginning of my recovery journey either.

I want to be attractive and sexy again, I want to be able to look in a mirror and not cringe. I am not unrealistic, I know I am older now and won’t have the body I had in my twenties and early thirties, but I can look better than this.

So, where do I start, I have set a goal, a weight goal and an image goal. I’m currently 199lbs., at my height, and age I should be about 140 lbs. if I can attain that I will be back to wearing clothes I enjoy instead of clothes that cover my belly or hide my fat. Maybe, just maybe, I can walk by a mirror and actually look at myself, I mean really look at myself. Not avoid my reflection in a window, not look away or look down or walk by as quick as I can so I don’t see what I have become. I want to look in that mirror, or that window and be proud of what I see, proud of what I have accomplished through discipline, and exercise, and healthy choices.

So..... I guess I just start..... so today I exercised, I pushed a bit to finish the whole routine, but I did it. I ate healthy today, cereal at breakfast, salad for lunch with a lite dressing, 3 ounces of cheese for protein. Tonight I will eat dinner with my family, just a smaller portion than I would normally have. I will drink my water. I will hold my head up and know that one day at a time I will start to recognize the old me, both physically and mentally. Tomorrow, I will repeat, exercise, eat healthy and drink water. Rinse and repeat until I get back to a healthier, happier me.

I chose a butterfly as the picture for this story because that is who I will be, a butterfly who has gone through the pain of change to become something beautiful.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl Lynn Jones

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.