Longevity logo

Whispering Ankh

Key to Life

By Marilyn GloverPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Image by Wolfgang Barth from Pixabay

My one and only tattoo was done over two decades ago when I was twenty four years old. It is nothing elaborate yet within its simplicity it speaks in volume about everything in existence. I have always personally believed that a tattoo should have meaning to the owner and be chosen with great thought involved. I can recall a man telling me when I was much younger that what we mark our body with becomes part of who we are. With this notion in mind I chose my ankh tattoo. She sits upon my upper left back; nothing intricate just black and red ink.

The ankh originates in Africa. It has been referred to as the “original cross” and can be seen all throughout ancient Egyptian civilization. The meaning of the word ankh is life, also called the key to life. The loop at the top represents the womb. The vertical part of the cross is symbolic of the male shaft and the horizontal line stands for offspring. Going into more specifics the ankh embodies all aspects of the cyclical nature of life itself. There is union; the starting point, birth, physical life, death, and reincarnation. The ankh can be seen in Egyptian art and hieroglyphics as a prevalent part of burial ceremonies. Ankhs were placed over the eyes of the deceased in tombs guiding them to the afterlife.

In addition to signifying life, the ankh is fascinating when we consider all the mystery surrounding the ancient Egyptians. Even to this day archaeologists are uncovering treasures and continuing searching for clues that will answer some long held questions about the civilization’s exemplary skills. With continued excavations modern scholars proceed to put together the pieces of a puzzle which one day may answer how this culture had striking advances in every area of human knowledge. It is nothing short of amazing to see how skilled they were in art, mathematics, agriculture, engineering and written language. If we keep in mind that the ankh means key to life then it is acceptable to contemplate that this key will one day unlock all of the secrets of a culture that lived centuries ago.

Aside from being symbolic of a union of feminine & masculine, the ankh is also likened to a union of heaven & earth where the loop meaning eternal life (no beginning and no end) merges with the cross which is human life/ man/ woman. Comparisons of the ankh to a hand held mirror reminds us to reflect on our ultimate mission in life; to unite the physical/ mortal and divine/ immortal aspects of ourselves. In ancient hieroglyphics and artwork the ankh is always seen surrounding the Gods and Goddesses. Another symbolism for the ankh is the union of the five elemental forces that create life: water, fire, earth, air and spirit. The loop exemplifies the spirit which is all encompassing, the cross representing the four elements of matter.

I have always been a very spiritual person so to choose the ankh for my tattoo was an easy decision. The ankh, a symbol meaning life, is a simple but at the same time such a complex image. None of us know exactly how we got here or even what happens after death. Do we reincarnate or is death the end? We all are spiritual beings living a human existence and for me the ankh speaks to me to embrace all of myself. My ankh has faded some over the years. She could probably use a color touch up to restore her tone but so far I have declined to do so. When I think of my past forty eight years and see my tattoo’s reflection in the mirror, I just smile. She is perfect the way she is. Just like the ancient hieroglyphics tell stories yet to be deciphered, my ankh whispers to me about all the knowledge inside me still to unfold.

spirituality
2

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.