Longevity logo

What Is Spiritual Ascension? Is It An Inaccurate Perspective? An Illusion?

Perhaps it's an objective happening, or perhaps it's just a belief that it exists... Which is it? :)

By Gabriel MohrPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Quick Fact

-While many believe in spiritual ascension, there are states and experiences that blow spiritual ascension out of the water!

Intro

Spiritual ascension has been asserted as objective reality by some people I've listened to, and after experiencing my own spiritual experiences I began to question the core belief ("spiritual ascension is how reality works and it's what you do"). It began to rub me the wrong way, so I put aside my beliefs and dug deep into the heart of the matter… Here's what I discovered!

The Concept of Spiritual Ascension

The concept of spiritual ascension, as I understand it, goes like this:

You and I exist in a certain vibrational state right now. Some of us are in a higher vibrational state and some of us are in a lower vibrational state. We are supposed to ascend/are ascending vibrations and states of consciousness. Whenever we raise our vibrations and/or expand our consciousness we're going through spiritual ascension.

I've seen and heard a lot of people act out and teach this particular teaching, and it seems as if many people have actually benefited from it! However, it didn't really fit well with me so I'll keep going just in case it doesn't fit well with you either.

Why Ascend?

Some tell us that we're automatically ascending without any conscious effort on our part, some tell us that we should be ascending as quickly and efficiently as we possibly can. But why give a rip? After all, ignorance is bliss, right?

It seems to me that beliefs literally create this portion of reality, so I can make a case either way and have it be a subjective truth that's injected with meaning. I can say "it isn't worth the effort to ascend because we're already ascended beings in disguise" and that will be my belief that I spread to others. Or I could say, "we should ascend because it brings infinite meaning to yourself and others" and have that be my belief that I spread to others. Either answer is the "correct" answer if I make the choice to believe and carry it out.

So, I feel like it's unfair to answer this question in one way or another. Either way, I'd be injecting my own belief in there and I don't want to do that. Instead, I'll simply move forward to the next paragraph.

So, Is It Accurate? Is This Concept a Good Mirror of Reality?

What I'm about to explain is something I experienced that transcended belief. I don't believe this happened, I felt and understood that this happened.

I woke up at 4:30 am a few nights ago and I could feel that something was going to happen - it often does when I wake up that early in the morning. I lay there for a couple of hours and eventually I felt it - a very intense-but-positive feeling accompanied by a white light that I saw in my mind. It faded, and I observed a subconscious thought process saying "fuck you" to whatever just happened. The feeling/light came back and I observed the thought, "have you had enough yet?" as the darker/more unconscious energy grumbled. And, this is only one of many experiences I've had like this.

When it was over I contemplated what happened, and I realized something: "if anyone I know felt what I felt last night they would say it was God. Or, they'd turn into spiritual people. It was obviously what people want to experience when they meditate or do anything at all! It felt so intense and so positive that it was unmistakable - it transcended belief altogether."

When I ask myself the question, "is spiritual transcendence the way to think about it?" I always look back to when I vehemently believed that it was! I had some cool experiences and I became somewhat mentally healthy, but I never experienced anything with real substance, anything worth writing home about. It was only when I began disidentifying from my beliefs and when I looked past my feelings and opinions to objectively see and experience the metaphysical reality that things really started happening.

So no, I can't say it's the end-all-be-all. Perhaps it serves as a good stepping stone but, at the end of the day, I say that paying attention to your dreams, day-dreams, opening your mind, and disidentifying from as many of your beliefs (especially the detrimental ones) as you possibly can is 100x what you experience if you subscribe to this core belief. This may not be the case for you, but I wouldn't be surprised if it is! :)

Final Thoughts

I find it difficult to write about this subject without simply stating what I personally believe. I've taken extra care to make sure that my answer to the main question is based on my imperial experience, and I answer it based on what is probably true for you as well, although I wouldn't be surprised if it isn't an objective fact that disidentifying from your beliefs gives more than subscribing to/creating the best belief system you possibly can.

One thing I understand for certain, however, is that we humans have the ability to create our own metaphysical realities and that these realities (particularly the beliefs we create and live out) can and will influence everything we do in the physical world. So if you wish to believe that spiritual transcendence is the absolute best way to go, then it will probably work for you. If you want to believe that it isn't then it isn't. Either way, I suggest you pour much effort into creating your individual metaphysical reality and do what feels best for you to do :)

Conclusion

Thank you for reading! I appreciate your time and attention, and I'll see you in the next article :)

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Gabriel Mohr

Hey everyone, my name's Gabriel! I love writing short stories, spreading conscious knowledge, and positivity! Author of 3 books :)

Check out my website! www.gabrielmohr.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.