Longevity logo

What I'm Doing to Get Ready for My Vacation

Let's start burning fat!!

By Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Me last Summer... LOL

**DISCLAIMER** Every body is beautiful. Every body is perfect. There is no "right" or "wrong" way to look. None of the things I say in this article mean to sound as though I'm putting down anyone else. Want a "Summer body?" Put on a bathing suit. The changing of the seasons, Internet trends, or anything else should not influence your appearance or how you feel you have to look. Just because these things work for me, doesn't mean they will work for you or be practical. This is purely me sharing my experience and mine alone.

Guess who's heading to Bermuda in 56 days? This girlll! I can't wait to lay on pristine beaches, swim in perfect waters, and feel the sun on my face. How am I preparing for my vacation? I'd like to be a little leaner.

Here are some things that I'm doing right now to help my body shed fat, or "cut."

In its simplest form, a "cut" or a "shred" involves being in a slight calorie deficit, paying extra close attention to digestive health, and implementing some cardio into your daily routine.

Personally, I feel as though multiplying your current weight by 12 to 14 would give you a rough estimate of how many calories you should consume each day. I weigh 130lbs, so I'm going to shoot for 1,600 calories per day.

I am an avid HATER of cardio... this definitely needs to change, but I'm sure I'll get used to it! I started doing treadmill sprints three to four times per week. If y'all want a cardio routine, feel free to ask!

What are some hacks/tips to help you keep on these shred goals?

1. Drink a LOT of water.

I mean a LOT. It's easy when you carry it everywhere with you. I carry around my reusable water bottle everywhere: the gym, my job, around the house, during my work... this might be a little personal but I find that when I drink through a straw, I drink a lot more! Maybe it's time to invest in STEEL/REUSABLE straws, huh?

Drinking a glass of water when you get up is beneficial to your health in so many ways— especially if there's a lemon in there. Lemon contains the only acid that can peacefully work with the acid in your stomach, helping your body digest food correctly and keep you regular... um... in the bathroom.

2. Walk more.

Take the stairs, park far away from the gym entrance, take your puppy out for a run. Getting to 10,000 steps per day has benefits that no one ever thought of. If you're having trouble visualizing it, think about this: one mile takes about 2,000 steps. So if you walk five miles every day, you should get there!

Being more active in your daily life also keeps you motivated and feeling good. I find that when I get more than 8,000 steps per day in addition to normal cardio and diet, fat just falls off me!

3. Eat enough vegetables and fruit.

Most vegetables and fruit are high-volume foods, which means you can eat a ton of them before you get full! Try snacking on those. Add some hummus, peanut butter, or yogurt-based ranch dressing if you can't take 'em straight up! Once you research the benefits of various fruits and vegetables, you'll be more motivated to grab an apple as you walk out the door.

4. Find things from your favorite fast food/eating out places that you can have.

Dieting does not mean you need to restrict yourself and never go through the McDonald's drive-thru ever again. There are a ton of little pins on Pinterest that show you low-calorie food items at your favorite restaurants like Wendy's, Cheesecake Factory, and Chik-Fil-a. Use your judgement, and be mindful! Don't punish!

5. Get to sleep on time.

Getting less than 5.5 hours of sleep drops fat loss by 50 percent! Your body needs rest and time to recover. Try to get at least 8 to 9 hours of sleep so that you wake up energized.

Hopefully I'll keep updated on how it's going and this helped someone to reach their fat loss goals!! XOXO :)

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.