Longevity logo

What Happened When I Gave Up Artificial Sweeteners?

Secretly Sabotaging

By Vivian HeartPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
1

We know that artificial sweeteners can have negative effects on our bodies. Chronic use can cause undesirable consequences. Studies have shown that when we stop using these sweeteners, the body will be recalibrated. In this article, I will explain what happened, how it felt, and the changes that I personally experienced when I gave up artificial sweeteners.

First off, let me explain, I have always been an active person. Whether it’s weight lifting, running, cycling, or team sports. I enjoy the diversity; it helps keep me active. With that being said, I also pay very close attention to the diet and nutrition world. Always evolving, showing us new, improved ways to take care of ourselves, and reach better health.

So, what changes did I notice when I stopped using artificial sweeteners?

What motivated me was I had started a popular keto diet with a friend at the beginning of 2019. I naturally lost some weight for the first twelve days. Then the plateau hit… 78 days! Yes, eleven weeks of strict dieting and no results. I knew the last ten pounds were hard to drop, but this was ridiculous. It was very hard not to become discouraged. In my desperation, I started reading articles on the internet, “How to lose your last ten pounds.” Most things I already had in check, but the one thing I could correct was my use of artificial sweeteners. I used it in everything, tea, diet soda, coffee. I loved my little pink packet friend (which is supposed to be a tool to help you drop weight), making it harder to rationalize giving it up. After all, this product carries zero calories, zero carbs, and I like it! I was a chronic user, for years...

So it began, I was giving it up. Though I mainly drink water, occasionally I enjoy a soda/pop. So, I sought out a brand that used natural sweeteners. Then I found a natural sweetener that I liked that I could use in my morning coffee and tea. I was prepared, it was on! I made the switch!

I will mention, I am a couple of years away from turning fifty, which is important, because I assumed that the hot flashes I was experiencing were part of nature taking its course. I was amazed within the first forty-eight hours, my hot flashes disappeared. I experienced these on an average of two an hour, so to drop to zero hot flashes, I was thrilled. That alone was enough to make me quit artificial sweeteners!

Wait, there’s more! Ten days of only natural sweeteners, I started dropping weight, it melted off actually. I continued my weekly exercise routine; four days of cardio, two days of hot yoga with light weightlifting mixed in. The last ten pounds dwindled away, just in time for summer. It did not take me long to realize I could have a small sugar-filled treat if I wanted, and still lose weight.

It was great to reach my weight goal, but I also noticed other things. My skin started looking better. It didn’t seem as dull—it literally developed a healthier glow. My sleep became better. I feel more rested, more rejuvenated, and I have more energy.

My thoughts have become clearer. I noticed I felt sharper when it came to critical thinking. The proverbial brain fog had lifted. My memory has improved as well. Recalling past events (even if it had only been a few days) was no longer an issue. I never liked the feeling of not remembering simple things, like what I had for dinner the night before.When people asked me questions like that, and I couldn’t recall without serious thought, I would become embarrassed. That no longer is an issue.

My taste receptors have become more sensitive. Flavors are no longer dull, allowing me to enjoy the foods that I eat more than I had before. Cravings have dramatically changed, the desire for sweets has diminished so much I hardly notice them, whereas I used to fight those cravings daily.

I had been told throughout the years about the side effects of artificial sweeteners. I wanted, what I wanted. My only regret now is not making the change sooner. The weight struggle is no longer a part of my life, and I no longer have to worry about the negative effects on my body. I encourage you, if you haven’t already, to take a thirty-day challenge, and give up the artificial sweeteners in your life.

-Wishing you healthy living-

diet
1

About the Creator

Vivian Heart

To learn more visit https://vivianheartbooks.wixsite.com/website-1

I am excited to be part of the Vocal Media family. Tips are appreciated! Spread the joy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.