Longevity logo

Weight Loss Journey

My 9 tips on losing weight

By Feven GPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3
Weight Loss Journey
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I started my weight loss journey in 2020. During the pandemic and due to medications I gained about 100 pounds in that whole year. I never in my life would think I would gain that much weight. I went from 117 to 235 pounds, that's a massive amount of weight. Another thing to note is that I wasn't eating the right amount of food. I would eat cookies after dinner like the medication made me addicted to eating sugar and made me always hungry. But I did another alternative to lose weight and here are some tips I like to share with you that helped me.

1. Drinking a lot of water. I started to drink a lot of water in 2020. When I started my weight loss journey, water was my way of losing weight. I would drink 8 ounces of water, every day.

2. Make a better breakfast - Never skip breakfast, it is an important meal of the day. So eating food with a lot of fibre, healthy fats, and protein. Some foods I tried were brown sugar oatmeal, every day I would blend it with some banana and milk into a blender and turn it into a healthy morning drink. I stuck to this routine every day during 2020-2021

3. Say goodnight to the kitchen - What I really mean is, don't eat at night. I know we all get cravings during the night, but don't do it, it is a bad idea to eat during the night. I learned that eating at night or before you go to bed causes excessive weight gain. That is something I stopped doing all of 2020 and 2021. To this day I don't eat at night.

4. Skip lunch - I know this may sound wrong to some people, but I skipped lunch for a whole year and noticed the weight coming off. Take this advice only if you want to, but it worked for me. I don't eat lunch to this day.

5. Watching your liquid intake by drinking ginger ale every day or coke is not a smart choice. I would recommend sticking to water as I mentioned and another great drink would be fruit Juice. I switched from drinking ginger ale every day with my meal, to fruit juices like apple juice.

6. Eat more healthy meals with vegetables and fruit. So instead of having meat with my wraps, I would eat veggie wraps instead or I would have Tuna, Veggie Sandwich, and Salads.

7. Adding more steps - So I would say, walking every other day for 40 minutes really helps the blood and weight gain. The more steps I took I noticed my weight dropping off. So walking is a really helpful tip.

8. Switch to other alternatives when it comes to food. For example, use low-fat products like when buying cheese I would get the low-fat kind instead the regular kind. So when buying products try to replace them with low-fat products.

9. Control your surroundings - For example, I stocked up on healthier foods, like fruits and veggies in the fridge instead of stocking my cabinets with sugary foods and desserts. I stopped buying sweets and cookies. There wasn't anything at home that would tempt me. Not saying stop eating cookies and sweets, it is okay to indulge yourself with a cookie once in a while, I am just saying when it came to losing weight I stopped eating cookies and sweets. It worked for me

So that is my list of tips to lose weight. I did these weight loss tips from 2020 -2021 and now the present day in 2022 I can proudly say I lost most of my weight, dropping from 235 to 150 pounds. I still have more ways to go, but I will continue to exercise and eat right. That is all I could really do.

Thanks for reading everyone! :)

weight loss
3

About the Creator

Feven G

Hi, my name is Feven, and I am an Eritrean Canadian living in Toronto, Ontario. I am a creative individual who enjoys writing and creating content. If you want to know more about my experiences, I would be happy to share them with you. ☺️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.