Longevity logo

Vulnerability and Stress

2 in 1 blog post

By Do It Yourself DestinyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Vulnerability: I know exactly what it feels like to be nervous about going out and attempting something you really want to do, but don’t feel good enough to do. It’s possible that media has told you that this particular thing takes time and effort that you are unsure you have, or that you need more experience or schooling. Maybe even the people around you have not been so encouraging with what you want to pursue. I’m lucky to have friends and family who understand why I am continuing my education, even if it puts a big dent in finances. I know and they know that my future plans will be worth it twice over. The struggle that I understand overall is the pressures that we put on ourselves. The thing I struggle with most is comparing myself to others. We want to make our own voice heard in one way or another, but if we are introverted or have anxiety about being vulnerable, we tend to see ourselves as not enough. Especially when we look to others around our age who seem to have it all together. Another fear is being scared to put ourselves out in the open and be vulnerable when we have seen what some cruel people can do to others who are already living their dreams. Media has given us something beautiful, the ability to share, communicate, and experience things together as a community, but no matter what kind of community that you have, some might oppose that community. AND THAT IS OKAY. Lyrics from a song that I love and can really relate too is, “If I didn't know what it hurt like to be broken, then how would I know what it feels like to be whole. If I didn't know what it cuts like to be rejected, then I wouldn't know the joy of coming home. Maybe it's okay if I'm not okay.” ‘Maybe it’s okay’ by We Are Messengers. How do you feel about this subject, or these lyrics?

Stress: Stress is everywhere. Currently, my phone is sitting in my pocket, heating up because I put stress on it to update all the apps in my phone. I have found that cats get stressed and try to self soothe themselves by licking consistently one spot on themselves. For us humans however we have a more difficult time assessing when we are feeling stress and what we need to do in order to relieve it. Yesterday for myself, I learned that I was put under so much stress that I snapped at the smallest things, a driving incident that was not an accident, still frustrated me until I was finally home. Late at night, I was also greeted by another stressful explosion once I managed to break my favorite glass with ice. That occurrence however resulted in, not anger, but some sort of slump of sadness, like not wanting to do anything. I do not have an answer on how to fix it, but I think we all need to find time to ourselves and find the thing that can really help us relax or pull us out of a slump. For me, I rely on the power of music, since there is such an assortment of different types, I can just pick whichever type will fit with my current mood. A good quote I found about this subject is, “I will breathe. I will think of solutions; I will not let my worry control me. I will not let my stress level break me. I will simply breathe. And it will be okay. Because I don’t quit.”-Shayne McClendon. What are your opinions on this subject? What have you been stressed about recently?

mental health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.