Longevity logo

Vaping, It's a Life Saver

Vaping has saved my life.

By Gerri'lynn YaklichPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like
I quit, so can you!

I used to smoke. A lot. I was up to a pack a day, sometimes a pack and a half. This added up very quickly at $7 a pack.

My husband and I had kicked around the idea of vaping for a while now. But the initial purchase is usually the most expensive. We opted to get the Smok V8 sticks, as they were easy to use and maintain. Than we got our juices. He started out at a 3mg nicotine level, and I a 6mg level. Considering the average cigarette has 18mg of nicotine in it, I figured 6 was an ok level to begin with. We had vaped on these for a few months, trying different flavors of juices. It's amazing how many there are. And to think that we're getting our nicotine fixes without all the extra chemicals that are added. I had done all the research online, and am learning more about it every day. There's more studies out now that show that vaping is much more healthier than smoking. And even though there's varying studies on the long term effects, most sites say there isn't enough data yet to determine if there's any harmful effects.

I see it that I'm no longer inhaling all the different chemicals that go into a cigarette. Vape juice is made up of Vegetable Glycerin and Propylene Glycerine (VG/PG), nicotine, food-grade flavoring, and sometimes water. That's it. What percentage you get is up to you. We usually get a 70/30 mixture. The VG is what carries the flavor, and has an easier hit on the throat, and it's also thicker. Where as the PG is what produces the clouds but has a harsher throat hit and is runnier so it burns faster.

The whole popcorn lung is from "buttery" flavors, and the diacetyl that causes this is rare to find in vape juices anymore. There are many brands that are diacetyl free. Keep in mind, this is the same ingredient that they use in microwave popcorn to make it taste buttery. The amount you'd have to intake to get it is extreme. And there has never been a recorded case of anyone getting it from vaping.

There are various ranges of nicotine levels you can choose from. We both started out at the lower end of the spectrum, but some sites you can get up to 12, or even 24 mg.

The cost savings alone for vaping over conventional smoking is crazy. We can get a bottle of 120ml of juice for $10, and that will last a couple of days. Since we both use tanks, we don't build our own coils, but even those run us about $15-20 for a pack and one coil can last a few days to a few weeks, depending on how much you vape and what kind of juices you use. Sweeter juices tend to burn your coils faster as the sweetener is harsh on them. And the more expensive juices sometimes use a lot of sweetener to cover up the harshness of the nicotine they use. You could spend $30 or more for 60ml of a "premium" juice and it will destroy your coils very fast, and won't last long.

Vaping is becoming more of a hobby now, and I am currently down to a 3ml nicotine level. We'll eventually get to the 0 level, and than it becomes just a hobby than an addiction. My cardiologist recommended that I vape, so he'll be glad to know that I've been "smoke free" for a few months now. We no longer smell like cigarettes, we've noticed our senses of taste and smell have returned, not to mention no more yellow fingers or clothes.

The vapor exhaled from us has no second hand side effects, and it dissipates very quickly as opposed to cigarette smoke that can hang around for quite a while. Sure, my husband blows clouds like a fog machine, but it doesn't hang around long.

I can honestly say that I am one of a million lives that have been saved by vaping. I've seen first hand the negative effects of cigarettes, but I couldn't stop myself from smoking. It started out as a stress thing, than became an addiction that I wasn't able to quit. I feel much better than I did smoking, and although I still suffer from shortness of breath, that's more of a health issue than a smoking related one. But it could, over time, improve. I believe that by switching, I've added years to my life. I won't have to worry about getting emphysema or throat cancer. I feel so much more positive about the future, and being around to watch my grandson grow up. I've heard of people going back to smoking, and honestly I've had some thoughts but I haven't. I know I'm doing the right thing for me, and for my family in the long run. And the "urges" are fewer all the time. Usually just during really stressful times, but I hit my vape a few times and they're gone. I believe it's mostly habit. It was hard at first, because I was used to the whole smoking routine. But now, I have no routine. I am free to vape inside my apartment and don't have to worry about ruining the paint.

If you or a loved on is a smoker, I strongly urge you to look into vaping. You don't have to go out and but a $150 kit, start off small like we did. Give it a chance. You will cough a lot at first because it is different than smoking, but once you get the hang of it and you see the world of options available flavor wise to you you'll love it. You can even start out with a tobacco flavored juice like I did. I wasn't too keen on the idea of vaping something fruity. I was thinking of it like a smoking alternative, and wanted something that tasted like tobacco. But now I use flavors like pecan pie and root beer. Even fruity cereals like Fruity Pebbles. I never thought I'd be able to just stop smoking without some kind of medicinal intervention, but I did. And you can too without the use of some other chemicals. There are vaping groups online for support and to help answer questions you may have. There's a whole community of people who were once where you are, and who will help you on your path to a healthier lifestyle and understanding the benefits of it. Vaping isn't just a smoking alternative, it's a whole lifestyle change. Whether it's for you or your kids, or even your future grandchildren, please consider this as an option to help extend your life and the quality of it.

If you have any questions, feel free to send me a message on Facebook. I can help get you into groups that will help you better understand vaping. And I can help you find products that are not only affordable but are a very good quality. Everyone's tastes are different, and everyone's preferred brand of vaping equipment varies. But if you want help, it will be there waiting for you. Come join the million lives that have been saved by this alternative to smoking. Without all the side effects that the pharmaceutical options have.

health
Like

About the Creator

Gerri'lynn Yaklich

I am currently 38, married and have 2 beautiful daughters, and 1 awesome grandson. I live in a small town in Pennsylvania.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.