Longevity logo

Valerian Root

My Personal Experience

By Sebastian VerlacPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

Valerian root extract is a natural supplement that aids in relaxation and restful sleep. My experiences with valerian root have been mostly pleasant. With that being said, however, there have been a few minor issues I've had. Before I dive in to my personal pros and cons, let's look at the medical facts about Valerian root. It goes without saying that you should speak with your doctor before use of any dietary supplements. Valerian root can cause irregularities in your heartbeat, as well as a few other health problems. If you have a preexisting heart condition, you should definitely stay away from it.

I started using Valerian root to help with my insomnia in November of last year. It was among several natural supplements I tried and by far my favorite. It became evident after the first use that it was a very effective relaxation aide. After about two weeks of daily use, I felt more rested and better able to function during the days. This honeymoon period lasted approximately two months before I began to notice changes in the effectiveness. The changes occurred not at night but in the morning that followed. I began to notice that even though I slept better, I felt groggy and exhausted in the morning. In trying to counteract this I tried taking the supplement earlier in the day, it had the same outcome. In the end, I just had to deal with the morning grogginess.

Another thing I found to be incredible was the dreams I had while on Valerian. Everything became so vivid and clear, dreams were so much more intense. There were even more than a few times when I had lucid dreams while on Valerian root. The only downside to that is the nightmares become more intense as well. I found that while on Valerian I was much more susceptible to dream according to the mood I went to bed in. Meaning, that if I went to bed in a bad mood, nightmares usually followed. Sometimes these dreams would be so mind-bendingly intense it would seem as if they would never end. This eventually wore off, however it was almost as soon as I built up a tolerance to the pills.

The taste of the pills is a major downside, at least it was for me. It is hard to describe the taste as there is nothing that really tastes similar. It tasted to me almost as if I was eating tea leaves out of a tea bag. I have read other writers accounts however, and several of them have stated that they enjoyed the taste. For me however, the taste was one of the main issues I had with the pills. The size of the pill was also a downside for me. It's essentially a horse pill and I found it very hard to get it down. There are other options however, such as tinctures and liquid extract.

Accessibility and affordability were also on the plus side for me. You can find Valerian root essentially anywhere. I have seen these pills at almost every health foods store, pharmacy, and grocery store. If a store has an isle that deals with medicine, chances are they have Valerian root. The brand I get is called Nature Valley. If I'm not mistaken, a 30 count bottle of 400mg pills ran me about $15. There are other brands as well, and from what I've seen most cost around the same. Considering the help these pills offer, and the fact that thirty last at least three weeks, I'd say $15 is well worth it.

So there you have it, a few of my personal pros and cons on Valerian root. Overall I have had a very positive experience. I would highly recommend this supplement to anyone who has trouble getting to bed at night, or sleeping through the night. But if the possibility of heart failure is too daunting, there are many other great herbal remedies.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Sebastian Verlac

Writer, reader, and anime enthusiast. I am passionate about writing about things that excite me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.