Longevity logo

Vaccine Diary (Day 3)

Day three of my vaccine journey.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
9
Vaccine Diary (Day 3)
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

Dear Diary,

Today started like any typical day for me. I got home from my 11-7 job at 7:30; I went to the store to get some food for my lunch around 7:45 and was back home by 8:00. I ate my breakfast, drank my usual coffee, took my vitamins. Everything seemed to be fine, but then reality set in pretty heavy for me. One, today was my dad's bday, and he's no longer with us, and two, the shot is STILL kicking my butt up, down, and sideways. The symptoms continue to be a nuisance:

1. The chills have begun

No longer do I have an ongoing fever, but I now have chills. Before, I had to use cool rags and light clothing, but now I'm in sweats, fuzzy socks, and a thick comforter in the middle of 73+ degrees temperature outside. No drinks warm me; no hot water runs long enough. I'm a freaking reverse polar bear! It's ridiculous. I know it's part of the symptoms, but come on! Moving on to the next one:

2. Fatigue is killing me

I'm so tired! I'm not kidding. I drank two XL cups of coffee, and it did nothing. I have no energy for anything. I'm lying in bed right now writing this journal entry as we speak. I went for a walk, exercised on my pedaler bike, maybe about an hour of exercise in total; I crashed from exhaustion for four hours. I didn't even notice that I fell asleep. I just woke up several hours later, extremely confused. I realized I didn't update my posts and freaked out, so here I am. Next on the agenda:

3. Sinus drainage

It's bad enough that my allergies are all jacked up from the sudden temperature change, but now my sinuses are flared up from the stupid shot. My nose is dripping; my eyes are watering; my ears are clogged; I can't stop sneezing. It isn't good. I feel like I'm being suffocated half the time, and the other half, I'm an overactive mucus monster! This crapstorm couldn't be over soon enough! Anyway, on to the next symptom:

4. Sore throat

While some of the things are disappearing, others crop up. Mainly due to the sinus drainage issue, I developed a sore throat with a raspy voice to follow. I sound like a woman that smokes a pack a day, no offense to those who do smoke. Lozenges go a long way but can only do so much. I also have Chloraseptic throat spray that number the area effectively. So if you're suffering, buy it now! It may be an old remedy, but it's effective.

5. Acid reflux

Okay, I have some gastrointestinal issues; I won't deny it. However, since my shot, I have experienced so much acid reflux! I changed my diet to reflect gall bladder issues several months ago and haven't had any problems. But since the vaccine, I'm in so much GI tract distress. I freaking despise it. I'm downing tums, milk and Pepcid like my life depends on it, because evidently, it does.

6. Weakness

I know that it's mainly from the fatigue side of things, but I'm so weak. I can barely hold onto something; I can't lift more than maybe twenty pounds, doing my daily exercises wears me out so quickly. I feel like a sickly older adult without all the knowledge and expertise. I feel like taking an adrenaline shot just to get me butt into gear sometimes.

For now, that's all I have on the subject. I must confess that my posts were messed up because of my passing out, and also due to Vocal’s review process, so that will be about a day behind in schedule at least. Hopefully, this won't be too problematic for my readers. With that being said, I couldn't do anything about it anyways, but I wanted to inform y'all of what was going on.

Until next time, be safe!

If you like what you read, please leave a heart for support. If you're feeling generous, a tip is appreciated but not necessary.

humanity
9

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.