Longevity logo

Using The Calm App To Destress Your Mind

Why it is important to destress your mind

By Shari Renae HicksPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Destressing the mind is worth it!

This past year has been rough for all of us, including me. We have had to find new ways to live life, which was not easy for many of us. In this case, our minds have been full of stress ranging from paying bills to keeping food on the table. I will admit I have been stressed a lot, but now I am slowly getting back on my feet along with others as well. When we stress our minds we often tend to worry too much, or maybe even forget things. There are times when it becomes hard to find time for meditation and there are times where we do not know how to meditate our minds.

Some of us often use yoga to do meditation, but there is something I want to tell others about and introduce others to. I have been using this app since it has came out. It is called Calm. I have been using this app for weeks and I love it. I decided to use it at night when I go to bed and I will say that it has been worth it! Calm is meant to destress the mind and relax the body. This app is educational and shows you how to calm the body and mind and that is what makes this app a lot of fun to use during the day or night. If some of us out there in the world would take the time to calm their body and destress their minds, the calm app would come in handy.

my favorite things to use on the app are the sleep stories and the daily calm. You can even pick the sleep stories you love after listening to them so you can go back and listen to them multiple times. The best part is that the app teaches you how to do deep breathing and believe me, that works miracles for me and it will do the same for you. What I want to share is that if you use this app daily, it will help you to slow down and destress your mind because that is what is is supposed to do. I want others to try this app because being a better person with a de-stressed mind is the key to living a healthy lifestyle, even during the pandemic!

Finally, since using this app, I have slept better, I am able to focus on work and my school studies and I am excited when I get ready to use it because the sleep stories take you on an adventure. You never know what part of dreamland they take you to! Once others try this app, they will love it and so will you! It is the best thing I have ever tried and I love it! Stay calm and take time to destress the mind when you can!

My favorite guests that have done a special series on the app are Lebron James, and Jeff Warren. They share stories on how they train their minds not to stress out and they share how they use mindfulness throughout their daily lives and daily activities. If you try the app today it will make all of the difference for your mind and mental health too! One last thing that I like is when you pull up the app, you can hear different sounds. My favorite is the rain sound and the rain storm sound. I love those because I can pull up the app and just listen to those for about 30-45 seconds. It does not take long for you to destress your boy if you try that. It works every time!

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Shari Renae Hicks

Hi

I am Shari! I like to write stories and share many life events through writing! Writing gets me focused on what is important and when I cam across Vocal, I thought that getting paid to do this on the side of my regular job would be neat!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.