Longevity logo

Understanding Neuroplasticity for Brain Health

How you can physically change your brain

By Jennifer PittsPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
By Loe Moshkovska from Pexels

"Neuroplasticity is the ability of the brain to reorganize and adapt from the result of experience."

I took this quote directly off my Instagram that I posted a few months ago when I decided to give up alcohol three months after the Christmas holidays to rewire my mind.

The longer one goes without alcohol, the more chance you can recover from the substance if it's stopped for some time.

The reason for this is synaptic pruning. Synapses that are not being used will eventually disconnect, whereas those being used will build stronger connections and ultimately help you rewire your mind for more fulfilled experiences.

An average adult brain weighs approximately 3 pounds and has roughly 100 billion neurons, and each neuron houses two extensions known as a dendrite and axon. Neurotransmitters are chemical messengers that transmit the messages from the two extensions and make their way to the synapse interface, making communication in the brain possible.

What exactly is Neuroplasticity?

It's the brain's malleability, and because it is flexible, it can adapt to change. When you implement new experiences into your life, you are creating new connections and reorganizing new pathways. When this becomes consistent, then old habits will be harder to indulge in. If you allow enough time, you won't even want to indulge as much and maybe not at all.

Changing your belief system can help rewire your brain.

"It's our beliefs that select our genes that select our behaviour. We are not helpless slaves to our genetic or family history — The Biology of Belief

Over time we pick up belief patterns in our environment, and most of us don't notice, but if you do, you can change your beliefs. It will take time, dedication, and new experiences, but it is possible, and practicing new beliefs that resonate in time will help transform your brain.

My old beliefs were that all adults drink, and I won't find meaningful or fun connections without alcohol. I was utterly wrong, and I only understood this because I allowed time to pass for my brain to rewire. I've started to attract new expansive connections without the alcohol.

Meditation is an excellent tool for rewiring.

Practicing mindfulness meditation will help keep your mind from wandering and staying stuck in the past or worried about the future.

I've taken up meditation in the past four months, I'm still not particularly good at it, but it has impacted my life successfully. I've become more observant of my thoughts which helps me get out of my head, and I can practice anywhere at any time (except driving) if I focus on my breath.

By focusing on my breath, I'm able to breathe more fluidly. The practice has taught me to focus on deep belly breathing, breathing into my heart center, and providing my body with space and balance.

By repeating this practice of mindful mediation, I can build new neuron connections. Neurons are cells in the brain that process information and are responsible for how we feel, what we think, and our actions.

It is becoming more well known that the benefits of mediation can change our brain structure, known as neuroplasticity.

The benefits of Neuroplasticity.

I've noticed some new benefits that have come with working on my beliefs and using meditation.

I've been sleeping better, which is related to cutting my alcohol consumption down, and I used to suffer from insomnia a couple of times a week. When I wake up, I immediately notice my breath and focus on it, and I fall back to sleep quickly.

My memories are much clearer, and I can remember things from twenty years ago. It's incredible. An old scent sometimes comes through, the feeling like I'm in the memory itself.

I have a lot more energy, motivation, and a new outlook on life.

Science is an incredible source of information when you decide to understand how the brain works. It's our human-computer, and to keep it maintained, you must work on it; you must clear out the old material to replace it with updated information. By understanding Neuroplasticity, you now have the tools to help change your life.

Published initially on Medium.com in Inspired Writer.

Copyright © 2021, Jennifer Pitts, All Rights Reserved.

science
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Pitts

Hoping to inspire others with my writing!

Follow @theinspiredtruthwellness IG

Twitter @Jenniferlapitts

Linkedln

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • test2 years ago

    You really know that a science article is legitimate when they quote Bruce Lipton.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.