Longevity logo

Top 5 Workout Video Pet Peeves

And how I learned to deal with them

By Kate McDevittPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Top 5 Workout Video Pet Peeves
Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

I’m just 1 person who watches a lot of workout videos. After doing at-home workouts for years, there are some common things I notice in workout videos that get on my nerves. Here are my top 5 workout video pet peeves and how I learned to deal with each.

1. There is No Warmup or Cooldown Included

Pet peeve: I usually have a certain amount of time blocked out in my day for a workout, and when I start a video and find I’m supposed to jump right in, it means having to tack on minutes for which I hadn’t planned. The worst, however, is when there’s no cooldown. I’m sweaty and exhausted and I am forced to go to my computer and look up a cool down routine that matches the areas I’ve just worked. I also run the risk of sitting down in my desk chair to find a cool down video and then not standing back up again.

How I got over this: My best solution is to simply check the beginning and ending of a video I’m doing for the first time. If there isn’t a warmup or cooldown, I know I’ll need to either choose a different video that fits better into my schedule or get those items cued up before I start into a YouTube playlist so they can autoplay for me. POPSUGAR Fitness has some nice warmups and cooldowns that are quick and easy to find in a search.

2. Trainers Who Don’t Do Their Own Workouts

Pet peeve: There are certain trainers (you know who you are!) who tell you what exercise to do, demo it for a couple reps, and then stop doing the move. I don’t mean trainers who occasionally check other people’s forms and point out ways to improve; that is useful. I mean trainers who stand and talk instead of doing the exercise. Not only is it more difficult for me to keep up my pace and maintain the proper form without a visual example, but it also annoys me that I am on this side of the screen working hard and the trainer seems to be taking it easy. I want a trainer who is sweaty and winded, just like me, but keeping up with the moves anyway. It isn’t fair for a trainer to ask me to give my all and then not put in the same effort.

How I got over this: I know it must be incredibly difficult to give verbal instructions and do the moves at the same time; I also know I couldn’t do it. But I really do want a trainer who is right there in it with me the whole time. So I keep a list of trainers whose styles do not match what I’m looking for. If I notice this flaw pop up in several different videos, I add the name to my list. So the next time I go looking for workout videos, I can more easily decide which to choose and which to skip.

3. There is No Time to Get the Required Equipment

Pet peeve: It’s frustrating when I’m halfway through a workout and the instructor suddenly throws in weights or gets out a mat. I’m sure it’s just a matter of making the most of their onscreen time, and they cut out the boring equipment setup part. But I can’t make my mat instantly appear like theirs do in a jump cut, so I have to go pause the video, get what I need, and come back. By then, my heart rate has dropped and so has my mood.

How I got over this: Very quickly I learned the value of watching videos by trusted trainers and on trusted channels where equipment is announced at the beginning of a video. When I hear “For this workout, you’ll need resistance bands” and I haven’t replaced my set of old, snapped bands yet, I know that’s not the video for me right now. I love channels like POPSUGAR that make a point right up front in the video itself of letting me know what equipment will be used, especially as I don’t always read the video description details beforehand either.

4. Not Being Able to See the Move

Pet peeve: Occasionally, a trainer will have me get into a position where I cannot see the screen to follow along. This isn’t usually a problem with a good trainer who can verbally explain the proper technique. However, there are a few trainers who just assume I can follow along and forget to tell me out loud when to switch sides, for example. There are other times when I need to modify and the camera angle or video editing make it impossible for me to see the person on screen doing the modified version.

How I got over this: There isn’t a whole lot I can do, but there are a few options. One, I can take a breather and watch until I can clearly see how the move gets performed. Then I can back the video up and join in. This is time-consuming, but it works unless the workout is livestreaming. Or, two, I can give it my best guess. Most times, I get pretty close based on experience, and this option allows me to stay moving and keep up. However, this option also means I might not have the right form or be working my body the way the trainer intended.

5. Trainers Who Say “Lay” When They Mean “Lie”

Pet peeve: All right, I admit it, I’m a grammar nerd. It gets on my nerves when a trainer tells me to “lay down” because I have absolutely no skill in laying flooring tiles or any physical way of laying eggs. It breaks my mood to have to yell a grammar correction at the screen while I’m transitioning from jumping jacks into bicycles.

How I got over this: I learned to acknowledge that each one of us has our own strengths and weaknesses, talents and shortcomings. I could never do what these trainers do on a daily basis—putting together well-balanced routines, practicing and refining them, and leading them for an audience of tens of thousands. So as long as they give me a great, enjoyable workout, I give them a pass now if their grammar isn’t perfect.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Kate McDevitt

Just like the creations I build out of LEGO bricks or the stories I create on the page, I am constantly working on building a life and figuring out how to adult. I'm Just 1 Person Blog: http://imjust1person.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.