Longevity logo

TMJ

What is it?

By Lisa BriskeyPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
2

What is TMJ?

The temporomandibular joint or TMJ for short acts like a sliding hinge, connecting your jawbone to your skull. You have one joint on each side of your jaw. TMJ can cause pain in your jaw joint and in the muscles that control jaw movement.

My Experience

I have had TMJ most of my life due to arthritis, grinding, and clenching my teeth every day. For the most part, it doesn’t bother me at all. On September 1st of this year, I ended up in the ER for excessive pain which I couldn’t get rid of. I had been in pain prior two weeks with this. It got to the point that nothing I did would help and I was in pain all the time. So I went to the ER, the waiting room was empty so within 5 minutes I was in room 5. The nurse was nice and she took my vitals and asked me questions. After a few minutes, she left. After a little while, the doctor came in and he proceeded to check me over. He knew I had TMJ because I could only open my mouth a little. He gave me an antibiotic for my gingivitis infection and pain medication for the pain. I was waiting at the pharmacy for a long time. I was diagnosed with TMJ Crepitus and Gingivitis. This was one of the worst TMJ flare-ups that I had ever had. The sad thing was that pain medication didn’t help. In the end, I ended up taking non-aspirin and ibuprofen. So every time I have pain in my jaw, what works is different.

What are the Causes?

The following are some of the causes of TMJ. One can have some of these or all of them.

Arthritis

Injury to one’s jaw

A head injury

A neck injury

One’s teeth or dentures not fitting right

Grinding of the teeth

Clenching one's jaw

What are some of the Symptoms?

The following are some of the symptoms that one can have with TMJ.

Muscle spasms

Stress

Clenching one’s teeth or Bruxism

Displacement of the articular disc in joint

Headache

Earache

Neck or shoulder pain

Can’t open one’s jaw all the way

Pain when moving one’s jaw i.e. yawning, chewing, biting

If one’s jaw clicks

Diagnosis

TMJ can be diagnosed by a dentist to see if your teeth and jaw are aligned where they should be. Sometimes, a dentist will have you do an MRI or have an X-ray done to see if you have TMJ.TMJ can also sometimes be diagnosed just based on one’s symptoms, or medical history.

What to Avoid with TMJ?

The following are recommendations of things to avoid if you have this condition.

Chewing gum

Eating hard candy

Sucking one’s thumb

Biting one’s nails

Resting your head on one’s chin

Chewing your food on only one side

Eating hard food

Clenching one’s teeth

Grinding one’s teeth

And not going to one’s dentist regularly

Some Treatments for this Condition

TMJ can be treated. This section will focus on how to treat this painful condition. TMJ often goes away on its own but sometimes one needs help to take away the pain. The following are some ways to do this:

One should apply heat or ice to the affected area. Make sure to that the ice is not touching the skin.

One should eat soft foods.

One can take medication to ease the pain or inflammation.

One can also take medication to help you to relax

Use a mouthpiece to help prevent grinding one’s teeth or clenching your teeth.

Seeing a counselor helps you relax.

One can also use relaxation techniques.

I hope this article was of use and if you have any comments or questions, please ask them. I wrote this article because though I have this condition there could be some that might read this and say I have those symptoms. If you do have these symptoms, you need to see your doctor or dentist to get help.

health
2

About the Creator

Lisa Briskey

I love to write, crochet, and sew. I am a grandmother of a two-year-old granddaughter.

Follow me on Medium: https://medium.com/@lisabriskey5

And support me on my Ko-fi: https://ko-fi.com/lisaj or https://ko-fi.com/lisabriskey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Syeda Ayesha Arshad2 months ago

    So, I'm a medical student and I wish I found this article before. Well written! I'm also a writer Ms Lisa! Hope you can visit my profile too and provide insights. 😊❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.