Longevity logo

The Power of Nature

My Stride To Free My Mind

By Charmaine van der MerwePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Eneida Nieves

Imagine a long footpath trailing through an overgrown lush tree-filled forest, the sound of water running gently from a nearby stream.

Meditation doesn’t require a dark room and absolute silence, in fact, nature has some of the most amazing tranquil sounds that we often forget about.

I am a huge thinker, my brain is always overactive and forever thinking about the present, the future and frankly, it drives me insane.

It's so bad some nights that I lay staring at the ceiling trying to find the off switch. How I have not turned to drugs amazes me.

I have found a way to switch it off recently and it all has to do with my surroundings, we live in a beautiful area filled with trees and streams.

One morning I woke up and pulled back the curtains as I did every day to let the sun’s ray’s blast through warming up the room.

This specific morning I looked out staring into the beautiful natural forest in front of me and wondered why I had never taken a walk through it and enjoyed all the wonders that it had to offer, the little secrets hiding waiting to be found.

I put on some tracks and made my way downstairs, heading out the back yard out the wooden door into this amazingly peaceful place.

This is where I set my mind free, “how?” you ask, well let me take you on my walk as I did the very first time and let you imagine for yourself how wonderful, relaxing and beautiful this trip was to me, the reason it has become my stride to free my mind.

My Stride

It’s around 9 am in the morning, the sun is out and I feel it hugging my body as though I'm wrapped in a shawl, I step out of my wooden gate onto a path filled with wooden pieces, muddy ground and dried grass.

Images by Charmaine van der Merwe

Already I am smelling the freshness in the air, the smell of nature as I inhale slowly filling my belly and exhale releasing all the tension and freeing my mind.

Walking slowly down the path into the trees breathing in and out, each time I breathe in I think of something that I want to let go of and as I exhale I release the negativity into the air.

As I find myself further into the forest of tall trees I stop for a short time closing my eyes and listen to the leaves as they rustle in the wind, branches of trees rubbing against one another and really appreciating the sounds of nature.

Image by Charmaine van der Merwe

Moving on deeper into the forest taking each step feeling every movement in my foot as I place down my heel and gently lower my foot to the soft moist ground beneath me, feeling the energy of the earth moving up and through my entire body.

The breeze gently chilling my body sending a sensation through my arms as tiny goosebumps appear, and then disappear as a ray of sunshine peeps through a crack in the trees.

The power of nature soaring through me making me feel less anxious and physically calmer.

I move on deeper into the forest walking slowly as I look at the trees, and wildlife around me.

Touching on the bark of the trees as I pass them by feeling the life inside of them.

Image by Charmaine van der Merwe

Once I have reached my place of relaxation I lower to the ground legs crossed and close my eyes once again, listening carefully I hear the birds tweeting and moving between trees. Inhaling gently and then exhaling constantly.

Releasing my thoughts I listen harder, and almost sending my soul out of my body and off into the open. Hearing the water as it flows in a nearby stream, slight splashes as it flows against rocks. The wind whistling around me and birds chirping. The sound of nature, a truly therapeutic experience.

I will sit here for around 15 minutes and just enjoy every precious moment as though I were one with nature.

I am extremely lucky to have a place like this so close to my home and really feel blessed to be able to use it in my time of relaxation which I do at least once a week, I would love to do it more often but for now, this will suffice.

We all need some time out, away from the hustle and bustle, is that what they say...

or rather in my terms, away from city life and my two noisy kids which I love dearly.

A time to reflect on our lives and free ourselves of the anxiety and stress that we endure from our busy lifestyles.

YouNotAlone

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Charmaine van der Merwe

I am a mother of 4, and soon to be a grandmother. Family is very important to me. I love sharing my life experiences with everyone, its a way for me to express myself.

I don't have a specific niche' and write about whatever is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.