Longevity logo

The POWER of Awareness

What's your super power?

By Dylan Stewart Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The POWER of Awareness

When I gained my superpower it wasn’t through a lightning strike or a yellow sun. It wasn’t because of some super serum or magic gene splicing. It came in the quiet. It came from days upon days of stress. From night after sleepless night. My superpower didn’t find me. I sought it out, discovered it and harnessed it. Now I use it for good.

My power isn’t super speed or super strength. My power doesn’t turn me invisible or allow me to fly. My power allows me to feel. It allows me to dip below my consciousness, step outside of this current moment and stop time while I connect to the most important tool we possess... my body.

Through years of training. A lifetime of chasing my runaway emotions. A conscious development of my tiniest instincts... I have trained myself to use my power like a superhero. To stop myself in my tracks to truly feel.

The awareness didn’t fall on me. The understanding of my body’s clues and capabilities was a hard fought battle of will and won’t. A down to the minute drag out war between who I wanted to be and who I couldn’t bare to be. Over time, through immeasurable failures and occasional successes I learned the greatest truth.

You, me... we are cut from the same cloth. We are no different. We each have within us a power greater than the gods. A power greater than the heavens themselves. The gift of a power so awesome even the deities themselves can only dream of it.

We can feel.

The cool air through the hairs on our arms.

The warm touch of your closest companion’s hand.

The sensation that tells you when to stop and when to double down.

This power sits under the skin and on the skin of every one of us, begging to be seen. Begging to be known. Begging to be harnessed and set free at the same time.

The key is in the ability to step outside of this moment. Observe your every physical sensation. Identify what feels right, and what feels out of place. And then to take action and do something about it.

Have you ever felt that churning in the pit of your stomach? That wasn’t last nights enchilada. It was your fear and dread, locking in on something and doing their best to warn you, to point out to you a challenge that you could avoid if you knew to pay attention.

Have you ever felt your heart break free of your chest and explode into a harmony of light and sound that freed you from gravity itself? Make no mistake, that was not a sugar induced high or the exhilaration of a well written episode of Game of Thrones. That was your soul screaming at you to focus. To feel. To pay attention and examine your surroundings because your greatest potential future is right in front of your face.

Have you ever felt a shortness of breath? A tingle in your toes? A cool chill run through you.

We have all ignored our powers long enough. We have been given every chance, every sign, every opportunity to break free and grab hold of the truth of who we are. Of who we dream of being. Of what’s possible.

And it is a breath away.

A moment away.

The slightest twinge of your smallest muscle away.

But if you want to be who you were put in this planet to be you have but one choice.

Just like Superman or Batman. Just like Captain America or Spider-Man, there comes a time when you must stop lying to yourself. Stop fooling yourself. Stop deluding yourself. And stop numbing yourself.

The pain you are feeling isn’t meant to be alleviated by the latest over the counter potion. The joy in your heart isn’t meant to be followed with a shot of tequila.

Those feelings... those sensations... those gifts are there for you to finally understand and to ultimately step up to be the best version of you.

When I got my superpowers I tried to give them away. I didn’t want to feel like this. I didn’t want to be overwhelmed by these emotions. I didn’t want the responsibility of awareness.

I didn’t want the power. But I had no choice.

Once I found the awareness. Once I unleashed the emotions. Once I challenged myself to understand the gift I had been given...

It was already too late.

So I donned my costume. I adopted my moniker. I pledged an oath to the truth, to my heart, and most of all to my awareness...

And the rest is history.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.