Longevity logo

The Perfect Morning Routine for Self-Awareness

You won’t believe how productive you’ll be in the first 3 hours

By Sean PeckPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Perfect Morning Routine for Self-Awareness
Photo by Dapo Oni on Unsplash

Everyone has their own morning routine, I used to not have one and that’s when I noticed I was in the laziest and most unproductive state of mind. I used to wake up whenever I wanted unless I had work and that’s why I woke up every day with no motivation to do anything productive, I never had a routine in the morning.

People like Oprah Winfrey, Jennifer Aniston, Dwayne Johnson, and just about every successful person make it a priority to do these certain actions as part of their common morning routine.

One day I told myself that I was going to develop the perfect morning routine as a way of self-awareness and connecting myself with my spirit. I struggled at first trying to do it every day but the more I kept doing it, the more focused I was and by the time I finished my morning routine, It was only 9 in the morning so I just went back to bed.

Wake up early

Waking up early will lead you to success and happiness.

It’s common for successful people to wake up as early as possible so they can get right to work. I love having time to myself and waking up at 6 in the morning during sunset is a great moment for time to do tasks for myself and complete my personal goals. When you finish your morning routine you’ll notice how much time you have left if you wake up early and start right away.

I used to be moody and frustrated whenever I woke up late in the morning because missing half the day is just depressing for me.

Meditate

As an anxious person most of the time, I read through what meditation can do for mindfulness and saw so many benefits from meditation that I had to try it and clear my mind.

I started meditating on guided meditation videos on YouTube as a way of relieving my stress and generating positive energy. You can meditate in the morning or night but make it a priority if you want to relieve your frustration, anxiety, and stress. There are times when I’ve been frustrated with myself over certain things and I use meditation as a way to cope with it and free my mind.

Meditating first thing in the morning it’ll set the tone for the rest of the day. I did a positive energy meditation. I want to soon learn the different styles of meditation and really look into it more because doing it could cause you to connect with yourself spiritually, I find it fascinating. Mindfulness is key to positive energy surrounding you and it’s a great practice for your mental health to let go of all negativity.

Work out

Getting a workout over with in the morning will have you feeling like a bodybuilder after you get it done and over with. Wake up with an intention to get things done and become the best version of yourself.

The hardest part of working out is bringing yourself into starting it but once you start it, don’t quit. I recommend doing these routines and start by doing 20 reps of each in the morning if you can’t go to a gym and would rather just work out from home.

Routines to do:

-Planking (30 seconds)

-Situps

-Pushups

-Squats

Set goals for the day

What’s the point of waking up early and having a morning routine if you don’t set goals for yourself of what you want to complete for the day.

Setting goals for yourself will give you a feeling of motivation and purpose. It focuses on how well you can handle your time management so that you can make the most out of the life you want to live. Set personal goals and tasks for yourself whether it’s to write 3 blog posts in a day or get an hour of a jog in.

Start by setting 3 goals a day for yourself and see where you can go from there. If it’s getting easier make it harder, it’s important to challenge yourself because if you don’t then you won’t push yourself to break future barriers.

Don’t go on social media right away

I waste so much time using social media in the morning right after I get up. I lay on my bed scrolling through Instagram and the next thing you know an hour goes by and I’m still in the same position on my bed with my phone battery 30% less.

Before even checking your notifications on social media, wake up and get ready for the morning. Shower, brush your teeth, have breakfast, and gain energy first before you waste precious time on social media.

I would’ve added coffee on the list if I liked it but I know 95% of the other population in this world relies on coffee to keep them up and energized so for my c0ffee people drink a good amount in the morning but definitely don’t overdo it. If you drink 4 cups of coffee in the morning don’t be surprised if you pass out at 2–3 in the afternoon.

I definitely need to get energy from a drink or something do you have any recommendations of energy drinks that are actually healthy? Rare to find but that’s just what caffeine is anyways.

The morning routine I’m doing is working like a charm and I notice all the free time I have left that I wouldn’t have if I kept doing my original routine of not having one.

Overall, I’ve felt happier and highly-spirited after consistent months of doing this routine. I also set aside time to read a chapter of a book a day and go on walks as a way of healthy time to myself increasing my knowledge and fitness.

(Originally curated on Medium.)

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Sean Peck

Online entrepreneur with a passion on business, social media marketing, music, and media

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.