Longevity logo

The Newbie Witch

A guide to the craft!

By Mary Malone Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Newbie Witch
Photo by Haley Owens on Unsplash

Hello!

My name is Mary Jane!

I have always been interested in writing, and the craft (not the TV show), so I’ve decided to combine the two! I’m still on my journey to learn the most I possibly can about my practice, and one of the hardest parts for me was where to start! There is just so much info!

Some people say shadow work, others just jump right in, there’s rules for this kind of incense and rules for that kind of tarot deck, what kind of witch do you consider yourself, are you ready to make spells?

It can be a lot, and although there are many videos and books, I thought I would take you through my personal guide on how to recognize certain aspects of the practice, and how to respectfully continue your journey! There are no necessary materials needed for starting this journey with me, but I do reccomend these things if you have them!

- Journal

- Plain Candle

- Quiet Space

And that’s all you really (but not necessarily,) need!

A good place to start is to understand that this isn’t just something fun. Of course I love what I do, and I do find aspects of it fun, but it’s not just an aesthetic thing to post on instagram. This is a practice that requires work, research, and digging deep into yourself. This being said, I won’t slander you if you carry around an amethyst in your purse, or if you burn incense in your home; but buying your own evil eye, buying tarot cards because you saw them on a TikTok, or even attempting a spell with no prior research is all dangerous, and should be avoided.

That being said, if you’re willing to put in the work, I can guide you to where you need to be. I can’t necessarily give you exact step by step instructions, since a lot of it is based around you as an individual, but I can be a gentle hand leading the way.

Now, if you’re still here, that means you’re willing to put the work in, and have a genuine interest in this practice, so lets begin!

First I would like to cover some of the FAQ’s of this practice.

Isn’t this devil stuff?

No! As a matter of fact, I personally don’t believe in the devil. None of what I do was originated by Christianity, thus meaning: no devil stuff. I know what you’re thinking: The Pentagram right? I know this may shock you but it has no correlation! The five points of the star actually represent the four elements and the soul, all joined together by the circle. So don’t worry, no devil worshipping here!

By Haley Owens on Unsplash

So like, you can tell the future?

Nope! A lot of people think when I read their tarot, I can show them what their love life is going to look like in the next week; not true! I can tell you what you should be looking for, what to put out into the universe, and things like that!

Who do you worship?

This is where it gets a bit sticky. I myself am still exploring deities, but as of now I simply worship the earth, the universe, and all it has to offer me. Many people who practice the craft may have differe deities, but if someone does have a deitie, that doesn’t necessarily mean they’re apart of the same craft! I know it’s confusing, but we’ll cover that soon enough.

Can anyone be a witch?

Yes! This isn’t Harry Potter, (sadly) and you don’t have to be born a witch! It’s like learning how to draw, or play guitar, the more you practice the better you’ll get! There are of course some people born with special gifts, like a very keen intuition, but that doesn’t mean you weren’t! We just have to find what that special gift is. You like to cook? Kitchen magic! Love being outdoors and gardening? Green witch! I’m here to guide you! Here’s a video that helped me figure some things out!

Do spells actually work?

It depends on what you mean by “work.” If you can say it out loud and it sounds outrageous, it probably is. If you want to be protected from evil entering your home, you can do that. If you want to make a frog levitate twenty feet in the air, you probably can’t do that. The way spells work is very subtle, and you could probably shake it off as a coincidenc. They also hardly ever go the way you expect. As long as you get from point A to point Z, it’s expected to go to point P then maybe loop back around to point F then somehow end up at Z. To add onto this however, a big part of spells, (brace with me this is going to sound cheesy), is to believe that they’ll work. Yup, Peter Pan got it right on the nose with that one. Magic is very personal to each individual, and thus will effect us each in very different ways.

Of course if there are anymore specific questions you may have, please leave them for me! I‘d love to answer as many of them, if not all of them! Stay tuned for the first chapter of my little guide!

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.