Longevity logo

The Many Jobs of Sustainable Scott

Trying to become sustainable takes a lot of knowledge, only learned from many many different jobs.

By Sustainable ScottPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
US Army 2005

Joined the army at 17 years old , and found myself serving a year in Iraq in 2005 as a Infantryman .

In 2008 I was a federal security officer at NORAD USNorthcom , and transitioned into the US Air Force Federal Police .

In 2010 , I became the lead Grower at a well renowned medical cannabis dispensary in Colorado Springs Colorado

Medical Cannabis was the first plant I was taught how to grow and it began my farming experience.

In 2012 I became a Father and raised this beautiful girl , Olivia ❤️
Graduation from college with science degree in Drafting and Design , and a bachelors degree in Project Managenment. 2014
In 2015 , I owned and operated IT Wizards Computer Repair , my own IT computer Business, offering repair and service support for a dozen companies in Fort Worth Texas .

Olivia Grew fast . ❤️ So did my love for her .

Taught Olivia about gardening

Took her to the White House and Washington DC .
In 2016 I left America to New Zealand, and became a traveling blogger and backpacker. Working a few Jobs , to get experience and prepare for owning my own farm. Here I got experience as a bee 🐝 keeper .

Bees 🐝 are super cool and interesting animals to raise, but they HURT when they sting !!! I got used to it after the first 10 times , then it didn’t bother so much, just Iched like crazy !
Got invited to the sail boat races and sailed with the vice Commodore of the littleton yacht club NZ .

Did many kilometres of Hikes , all around New Zealand as a backpacker.

Swam in ice cold ❄️ glacier water , and never felt more alive.

Climbed a few mountains, and contemplated manifest destiny.

Built a sick camper van out of pallet wood and had solar panels on the roof I used to bake bread 🍞 with a second hand bread maker.

It was delicious to say the least.

Built a few chicken coops for friends while woofing at a few places .

That Apple storage container out of pallet wood .

Volunteered for a day at a New Zealand dairy farm to learn the ropes and where milk comes from. I wanted to have my own milk 🥛 and honey 🍯 Farm one day, so it was important for me to experience both bee 🐝 keeping and dairy farming .

Operated a auger tractor for the wheat 🌾 harvest , and got to drive a super duper tractor 🚜 for experience. The farm life is definitely my dream job, one ☝️ day it will come .

Also got to work at a nursery potting plants all day, learning how to manage thousands of plants and rotate them around the garden to get best sunlight and water plan.
Built a trailer garden a few times to tow behind my camper van.

Second Generation trailer garden green house , full of potatoes 🥔.
This was the 3rd generation trailer garden , complete with beats , Broccoli 🥦, a mandarin 🍊 tree , potatoes , Mustard seed , celery, Kumara , onions .

And kale , strawberries 🍓, But it definitely needed more work, I imagine if I didn’t have to leave New Zealand because my visa expired , the trailer garden could have been Super duper incredible.

Pretty much a engineer.... 😂

In 2018 , I moved to Australia, and started installing solar panels , learning to be an electrician as a apprentice, I had to give up my job to help my wife take care of our disabled son.

Spent some time working as a guide in the out back at Uluru.

That giant red rock in the Center of Australia ...

The beard was essential to be a guide in the outback .

Working as a guide we also had to be our own mechanic, driving in the outback alone with a tour , we had to know how to do the essentials, cause in the outback , it’s like the last frontier 6 hours away from anything.

Even though my time as a guide was brief , I was so thankful for the experience, and this awesome crocodile tooth hat .

Back to the solar life ...

Some where on the way to 1000 panels , you get lost in the free energy of it all, and it becomes you. You literally become free energy. I can’t really explain it, only solar installers would understand, its one of the most influential jobs I’ve had in my life . And I’m so thankful for the experience.

Now , I’m a full time daddy. Never thought in my life I would raise a disabled child , but it’s been the most humbling experience of my life.

Working a few hours a day, for 10$ a hour , it allows me to put food on the table , help my family, and deliver food for urber eats. .

Modified this second hand luggage container for my bike , to use for urber eats.

Of course one day , sustainablescott.com will be sustainable when people learn the value to their life from off grid energy.

Started sustainable Scott in 2015 , and it’s been 4 years , still not sustainable, but trying everyday. Much love, thanks for reading 📖.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Sustainable Scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.