Longevity logo

The List

20 Things I Wish I Could Tell My Younger Self

By Rauce The-saucePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

As I grow nearer to my mid 30's I look back at my 20's and think of just how far I have come. I have overcome a lot in my 32 years on this planet. I have grown, I have failed, I have persisted. I have gone through things that the majority of people don't go through their whole lives. Pain and loss are the hardest things, but the come with a clarity unlike any other. A first-hand knowledge that turns into wisdom. The older me does not even recognize the person I once was in my younger years. There are a few lessons I have learned, and these are 20 things I wish I would have learned earlier in life. But in the end, the journey matters.

Things I wish I could tell my younger self:

  1. Break-ups are not the end of the word; life indeed does go on. Love will find you.
  2. Never quit a job until you have something else lined up. You may hate your job, but you will hate not having money more.
  3. Set some money aside from every paycheck and don’t touch it. Someday you will be glad you did.
  4. Breathe. Life has a way of working out. Every time you feel like you won’t make it through, you do.
  5. Don’t ever stop working out. It’s too easy to get fat and lazy.
  6. Don’t give up on your dreams. You may not ever get exactly where you think you want to be, but always chase the important things.
  7. Don’t go straight to college after high school. Take some time off and work and figure out who you are, there is no rush. College isn't going anywhere. Live a little.
  8. Don’t feel like you have to have your life all figured out by 21, you still won’t many years later. And that’s OK.
  9. You ARE worth it. Don’t ever let anyone tell you you’re not.
  10. Work hard. Both with employment and in the things you enjoy. Hard work is more fulfilling than being fat and lazy. See #5.
  11. Spread some joy, it will come back tenfold. So will hate. Be a good person, live a good life. You can only control what you put out into the world.
  12. Hate and anger are silly things to fixate on. Let things go and learn from your mistakes. Forgiveness is for you. It's freeing.
  13. Sometimes people deserve another shot. Other times they do not. Learn to tell the difference, but don't hold grudges.
  14. Don’t be shy. Put yourself out there. Don't be afraid to be a little fool hearted.
  15. Remember the day that your heart broke completely and you thought your world had crashed in all around you? The day you still can’t think about for too long without crying? You make it. It sucks. But you make it, so does she.
  16. Happiness is not the most important thing. Happiness is fleeting. Find contentment.
  17. Your friends will change, but the real ones will always be there for you. Sometimes you will find friends in the most unlikely of places. Keep the good ones close and let the others weed themselves out.
  18. Don’t let yourself become numb. It’s a long road back to being able to truly feel again.
  19. Don’t let yourself get sucked into things you know are wrong. It’s harder to get out of quicksand once you are in it.
  20. Remember everything lead you here, love yourself. You are the hardest person to truly love. Live a day at a time. You got this.
advice
Like

About the Creator

Rauce The-sauce

I am a writer, poet, musician and aspiring novelist. I have finished a rough draft of my first full length novel and am working on rewrites and editing. I work full-time with adults with special needs and love my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.