Longevity logo

The Journey

Insight from the South of Italy

By Jennifer MoorePublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like
La Terrazza-Polignano A Mare

Beach day! I'm a lucky woman... feeling grateful and feeling blessed, knowing that this trip is coming close to an end... which is really just another new beginning. I needed every moment and second of this. Every struggle and every challenge has reawakened a part of me that has been buried underneath a series of losses, traumas, and changes that pulled the rug out from under me.

It's an old story, but it is mine and the roots are deep. As I uncover my buried truths, I have no place to hide. In every moment, I have been able to teach, to learn, to grow, to understand, to meet fear and rise above all the chains that have held me back.

At times, I have faced many situations and people that have created an impasse, which has only revealed to me all the weaknesses I have suppressed, inviting me to hold awareness and acceptance of my imperfections with love. For me, this is where the greatest lessons come from, the school of life, allowing ourselves the freedom to know oneself better, deeper, and to be vulnerable enough that we may express and offer the world our authenticity.

We are all artists and we shape the world everyday with each word. Every moment extends a ripple and with it we have the power to create a world that is much more enjoyable to live in.

Life is so hard already. Why must we complicate it? Sometimes, it is only ourselves blocking the doorway. Dive in and explore your hidden secrets. They are the keys to your happiness, because no matter where you are, home is where your heart is and where they truly understand you.

I may not be where I intended to be or as whole, healed, or balanced as I have felt I "ought" to be in this moment, but I am here in all the ways I can be, and that is right for me at this particular point in my life.

Wherever you are, find yourself there and know that all things are temporary. Know that where you stand and plant your feet isn’t your final destination.

The mistakes I have made do not define me and the expectations of others I did not meet do not mark me as a failure, nor am I any less than deserving of success and happiness in my life. What success really is may differ moment to moment or from person to person.

In truth, failure is our own inability to reach our goals in life, whatever they may be. Whether we succeed or fail lies in the difference of our goals and our ability to meet them.

These goals and dreams will vary throughout our lives because although contrary to “popular” belief, we CAN and DO change. It is impossible not to, unless you are sitting underneath a rock hiding from the world. Our environments, interactions, and dreams evolve us consistently into growing beings.

This means that doing our best also changes. At times, your best isn’t the best you can ever do. It is the best you can do right now. Honoring this, accepting this, and nurturing this isn’t limiting. It is compassionate. It is unconditional love. In so doing, we raise the well-being, understanding, and appreciation towards self and others.

I often wonder why it is we separate things from one another, or why we attach labels to superficial meanings and expect others to follow rules that inevitably serve no one’s highest good. When we simply allow—letting things be what they are in nature—without controlling or devising outcomes, we are often greeted by surprising results, rather than when we try to contain it. In fact, we bear witness to the impossible becoming possible, the unknown to reveal itself, and for intricate structures to creatively materialize, all because we allowed and had trust. Separation causes division and with it the fall of all things once sacred and beautiful.

Everyone has an opinion, but you are the master of your life and you alone determine who drives it. For a time, it was all I could do to go along with the ride and sometimes that's all you can do. There is no end, only a cycle, and this one is coming full circle. Love and blessings and to each their own journey.

Like this post? Follow me on Instagram

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Moore

Artist - Writer - Traveler - Healer - Life Enthusiast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.