Longevity logo

The Jewel of the Mental Health Harbor

No paddle, flotation devises, or help of any kind on this vessel.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Denis Leary continues to kill it season after season on Rescue Me. As well as the entire ensemble. Worked with lots of them. Binge watching on and off since quarantine started.

IT'S GOOD TO HAVE A FRIDAY OFF

• My weight: 139. I will get my period tomorrow. The water gain around my mid section is unbearable. It feels like hell.

• Meanwhile, I walked 3.27 miles in 1 hr, 8 min.

• Tried to visit an herbalist in Sunset Park, but it was closed. Instead I bought a hunk of hallavah from Sahadi's and walked to the nearest ferry terminal.

• 1.1 mile walk. 23 min, 18 sec. 140 calories.

• I took the ferry, specifically "The Jewel of the Harbor," from Sunset to the Rockaways. Just to step off the boat, turn around, and come back. It was bliss on open water. And lowered my pulse by 29 beats per minute.

WHAT A WEIRD WAY TO SPEND A TUESDAY OFF

LIBERAL KAREN:

Hi mental health clinic. This is Karen. Thank you for finally returning my three messages.

MENTAL HEALTH CLINIC:

Sorry about the money you owe us. But you agreed to your deductible. So there's no way I can help you. You should call your insurance company and see if they will waive the deductible due to COVID-19.

Dialing.

LIBERAL KAREN:

Hi insurance company. I sought mental health treatment from February through June because I had my first anxiety attack in six years. I am an otherwise healthy 52 year old. The Clinic said that they accept my insurance, but made no mention of a deductible. And now I owe them a lot of money, an amount that well exceeds my $16/hr salary, which you knew of when you chose to insure me. I was medically excused from work for eight weeks because of COVID-19, and lost two months pay. So if you wouldn't mind, please, could you wave my deductible.

INSURANCE COMPANY:

Fuck you. No. Mental health has nothing to do with COVID-19. At the epicenter and height of the pandemic.

TWITTER:

!@#$-Governor. I was told by my !@#$-insurance company that in New York, during the months of the pandemic, mental health had absolutely nothing to do with COVID-19. Is that true?

!@#$-INSURANCE TWITTER RESPONSE:

If we can help you verify your coverage, claim, or plan DM us and we will have someone "on our team" get back to you.

LIBERAL KAREN'S TWITTER RESPONSE:

Nope. I've already spoken to three of your people. That's some team you've assembled. My approach to athletics is a bit different. As is my governor's, as well as his family. Have you seen his brother?

Awe, Purpose, Inspiration

• Why does everything need a purpose? Can't I just live my life?

• I am in awe of people who still love me despite my flaws.

• My most recent suitor continues to inspire me.

• Purpose? What is my purpose? The older I get, the less I know.

• Jay inspired me even with, and I think because of his flaws.

• Well into my thirties, I thought that higher powers had another purpose for me. Now I'm not sure what my purpose is.

• Barack continues to inspire me.

• Running gives me purpose.

• Long gone, my parents and grandparents continue to inspire me. This includes both grandfathers, who I never met.

• My purpose is to only take what I need from Mother Earth, and leave very little behind. My purpose is to genuinely care for, and love myself. My purpose is to be the most authentic version of myself.

MAYBE I'M AMAZED AT THE WAY YOU LOVE ME ALL THE TIME. MAYBE I'M AFRAID OF THE WAY I LOVE YOU. MAYBE I'M AMAZED AT THE WAY YOU PULLED ME OUT OF TIME, AND HUNG ME ON A LINE. MAYBE I'M AMAZED AT THE WAY I REALLY NEED YOU. --Paul McCartney

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.