Longevity logo

THE BIG V IS FOR ME VEGAN

I WAS SICK WITH COLITIS (Part 1)

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like
THE BIG V IS FOR ME VEGAN
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

It all started two years ago, my very first bout with colitis! I did not feel good and a good thing my friend was helping me with the housework. I went to my bed with a stomach ache. I thought it would go away, but it kept on getting worse. I had to go to the bathroom and I felt like vomiting too! As I was walking to the bathroom I fainted. My toy poodle ran and got my friend and she saw me on the floor. I heard her call my name but I could not get up from the floor. My friend called my daughter and my daughter told her to call the paramedics. The paramedics came and took me to the hospital. My daughter came to the hospital and told me how my dog Smokie got her to come to me. I said he is smart, poodles are very smart and Smokie had a college degree! I asked my daughter where is Smokie she said home. I said well He needs to have a big treat!

At the hospital, they gave me medicine for my stomach! My blood pressure was so low they had to give me intravenously. I also had to go to the bathroom and that was no fun. They gave me a Cat Scan and found nothing. After taking blood tests they found out I had Colitis! I was hospitalized for a few days. Then I was sent home with strong antibiotics to take. When I got home Smokie was at our friend's house. I missed him very much he would be home tomorrow. My daughter stayed with me to make sure I was o.k. I really appreciated her staying with me. We watched t.v. and she made coffee. We drank coffee and had a good conversation about my dog Smokie!

Smokie was in the house alone and he did not like it. When my daughter came to my house to check on Smokie she had a big mess to clean up! Smokie had my clothes on the floor, he somehow got on the counter and put stuff on the floor! And she had to pick up medicine which was also all on the floor. Smokie retaliated because I did not come home! When my daughter told me what he did, especially getting on the counter, I told her to take him to our friend in Sutton. We did not want him to get hurt and thank the good lord he did not consume any of the medicine! My daughter told me she would call our friend in Huston. Our friend said I will take care of him and it would not be a problem! She loves animals and she loves Smokie, they get along great!

So when I got home from the hospital Smokie was at our friend's home. My daughter could not take care of Smokie because of her dog. Her dog is part pitbull and Lab., he doesn't get along with other animals. One bite from him, Smokie would have to go to the Vetranian Hospital. Or he could die, so to keep him safe we do not have Smokie with Chevy! I miss my dog a lot but I had no choice for him to stay with our friend! Many times I left Snokie alone and he did not make a mess, he left my things alone.! That night my daughter cooked dinner and I ate most of what she cooked. She is a very good cook, and she also likes to bake. We bake cookies together and have a lot of fun doing it! After dinner, we relaxed and watched a movie.

PART (2)

The next day my daughter went home and her husband went to get Smokie!

By Fezbot2000 on Unsplash

Smokie is silver in color and he does not shed poodles have hair, not fur.! When he came home we both were glad to see each other. I just wanted to get back to a normal routine. The next two days I was relaxing and both of us watched t.v. We were glad that we were back together and things would be normal again! Things were normal for six months then I was hospitalized again with Colitis! I had no idea that eating meat especially steak and potatoes was the culprit! This time the doctor wanted to send me home when I was septic! I told him I wanted him to take tests and find out why I get Colitis! He did a couple of tests and they were negative! He wanted me to take a colonoscopy but I told him why I did not want to take the test. After a few days in the hospital, I went home.

I was fine until another colitis bout and this time my daughter was with me and she had to call the medics. I was in the hospital for a few days and then they sent me home again. This was happening every six months and then it happened to me when I was in Anchorage. I called my daughter and told her and she called her sister. She told her what happens to me when I get Colitis. I was in the store when suddenly my stomach hurt. I checked out fast. I was driving but knew I could not make it home. I drove into a Parking lot and called my daughter. My youngest found me in a very bad condition. She called the medics and I was brought to the hospital again!

This time they kept me over a week, they told me I was very sick. I was septic again and this time it was very bad! I was in the hospital for over a week. They had to give me antibiotics intravenously for a week straight. Again my family took my dog to our friend's home in Sutton. I was glad they did. My daughter was in the same hospital that I was with a neck operation. She wanted to see me but she couldn't because I was septic. I talked to her on the phone and asked her how she was. I told her don't worry they are taking good care of me. I was very concerned about her and I wished I could see her. She told me she will be going home soon.

I told her I should be home soon too! We both can recuperate at home. I live by myself and my daughters worry about me. I was moved upstairs and a day later I went home. My son-in-law drove me home from the Anchorage hospital. On the way home I had to pick up some medicine and he went into the store for me. My daughter was at home recuperating from her operation. When we arrived at my home my son-in-law helped me inside. After he left I got comfortable and went to bed and watched t.v. By the next morning, I got up and had coffee, and I took a shower. I had to go to the store but I did a quick list with the grocery store. All I had to do is drive to the store park the car and they brought the groceries to the car. For another six months, I was feeling fine.

Then again I was in the hospital with colitis again! It just comes on suddenly with no warning what so ever! The doctor wanted me to take a colonoscopy and I refused to do it! In the meantime, my daughter did some research and she found what might be the cause of me getting sick. She came over and told me what she found out on the web. She said Mom you need to go Vegan! I told her why she explained to me the meat is making you sick! I said really! She said yes it is the meat and dairy products. I really could not believe what she told me, meat is making me sick! She asked me to please try to go Vegan for one week. I said I will do it and see what happens!

I did and I started to feel better I had more energy and I felt less tired! I told my daughter and she said see I told you, mom! I said your right let's see how long I can go without getting colitis. I called up my friend and gave her all the meat I had. She thanked me a lot I told her going Vegan is the best thing I could have done! That happened eleven months ago and I have not gone to the hospital sick! I buy plant-based meat and it is pretty good! I eat a lot of vegetables and I buy Almond milk! I will never go back to eating meat again! My stomach can not handle the meat. I am so glad I went on a Vegan diet and I feel much better than I used to! For me changing my diet and going Vegan was the best thing I could have done.

VEGAN SHEPHERDS PIE

This simple Vegan Recipe that I enjoy eating. Tofu Shephard's Pie: put 4 paper towels on a plate put the Tofu on the paper towels, put 2 more paper towels on top of the Tofu, then put a few books on top of the Tofu. Or anything that will weight the Tofu. Let it be for about 25mins, you will see water on the bottom of the plate. Discard the water, and put the Tofu in a baking dish. With a potato masher mash the Tofu.

Dice up one small onion and put it in a bowl.

Dice up 2 cloves of garlic

I use instant potato flakes for the mashed potato. Follow the directions on the package. Make the potatoes thicker.

One 16oz can of tomato sauce.

Add salt and pepper to taste and add 1/4tsp Italian Season Mix

One 16oz. can cut string beans or vegetables of your choosing.

After mashing the Tofu add the tomato sauce, small onion, and vegetables

Put the mash potatoes on top of the mixture.

Bake in the oven on 350% for 25mins.

Take it out of the oven and let it sit for 5mins.

You can serve this Shephard's Pie with Bread of your choice

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.