Longevity logo

The Beginning of my Metamorphosis

My Diabetic Transformation

By Jenny DavisPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am an emotional person. I admit it. I cry when I get worried...scared....even mad. But I don't remember ever crying for a whole, entire day.

Then again, I've never been faced with the news I was given that day. It changed my life. When the doctor gave me that look, I knew I was in trouble. But, I didn't think it would require this much out of me, and a dedication from my family. I feel so bad for making them go through this with me. I mean, it will be better for them in the long run. But do you know how bad it makes a 15 year old feel to realize that she forgot you cannot have potatoes, after she offered you a chip. And how bad it makes me feel knowing I caused it?

The hardest part, other than not being able to eat any bread (I love to bake), potatoes (love them, too), and rice, was the news that I couldn't even have grits. That has been my weekend breakfast with a fried egg for years. But the idea of being an insulin dependent diabetic was scarier.

So, I bit the bullet, as did my family, and, for the most part, have eliminated carbs from our diet. Well, almost completely from mine, at least. But, I am proud to say, I have only had one instance that I slipped up and ate something full of sugar. It was my birthday. I was allowed a splurge, right? Wrong. The three pieces of chocolate that I thoroughly enjoyed only had 20 grams of carbs. Not bad. I thought. My sugar levels jumped 70 points overnight. But, I learned.

I have found many recipes on Pinterest that allow me to enjoy a dessert here and there. Even brownies. And they were good. I have found that, as with everything in life, your attitude means everything. For five years I denied that I had to change anything. Determined that I was okay, and just needed the right medication. Once I embraced the idea that I had no choice, a change was easy.

As someone who loves to cook, it gives me a valid reason to cook from scratch and find ways to make healthy... tasty. I have successfully convinced my hard headed husband to try the dreaded brussel sprout. It was a success. He has asked for it as a side since. Baby steps. Although he keeps forgetting that I cannot have all of the good things fast food has to offer and asks me if I would like, say Dairy Queen, for dinner. He is trying.

My surprise supporter is my son. I knew my daughter would do anything she could to help me, even though she forgets and offers me a chip. But my son is such a picky eater, I didn't expect him to tell me that he will eat whatever I fix for myself. I am so lucky to have their help and support. And so proud of them.

I know, however, that few of us facing this disease have a strong support group such as this one. As I live in a very rural part of the state, we would have to drive 30 minutes to find one. Noticing the increasing number of coworkers that mention the sugar or carb count of something and that they shouldn't be eating it, I have toyed with the idea of starting a support group in my city. I don’t have any experience in such an endeavor, but I know the importance of support at times when you are facing challenges.

There are so many who are battling this disease. And the food and pharmacy industries are capitalizing on it. I have always been told it’s cheaper to eat healthy. But, how can that be when sugar is half the price of the substitute, and a 2-liter of soda is less than a 20 oz bottle of water? I have been blessed that my secondary medication reduces my appetite. I was constantly hungry (which is a red flag if you are always hungry but lose size anyway). But, even with that benefit, vegetables don't have the staying power that a good, greasy slice of pizza does. Oh, I miss my pizza.

I need a garden. Inexpensive food, and exercise to go along with it. Maybe then it will be less expensive to eat healthy. I just want everyone who is facing a lifestyle change because of diabetes to know that you are not alone...there are many in the same position… you just have to find them and support each other. The only way we will thrive with this disease is as a team. And I intend to, not just survive, but THRIVE!!!!!

diet
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.