Longevity logo

The Avid Lifter's Post-COVID Return to the Iron

Week 2 Part 1

By Matt GuzmanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

These writings are a bit back logged so I'm catching up on uploading. Week one was mostly getting back into the feel of lifting weights again. Didn't want to put too much stress on my joints too quickly, but also wanted to get a gauge of how much I can lift. So week 2 will be basic working sets up to 8 reps. I do a 6 day per week, push/pull/legs split. Each split has two different days, so the workout week goes Push 1/Pull 1/Legs 1, Rest, Push 2/Pull 2/Legs 2. This split gives you enough variation that your body doesn't get accustomed to the workouts, with enough structure to hit each muscle group effectively.

Push day 1 was good overall. I started on bench, focusing on my form's details, like keeping my elbows adequately tucked and my joints stacked on each other. Doing effective reps with the lighter weight will make you more confident when the bar gets heavy. I went up to 175 for 2 sets of 6 reps. This left a little in the tank for next week. Bench got me pretty fatigued, to the point I was talking myself out of following with Arnold press, but I went through with it anyway. Always the right choice. Sometimes a good push on a tough lift gives you a second wind instead of wearing you out-this was one of those times. Followed with incline dumbbells. Not only is this the most effective upper chest exercise, its also great for your grip and arms. Only went up to 45's, again, leave some in the tank. Accessory work after that. Side raises for the side deltoids. Isolating the delts will give you more separation between your shoulder and tricep. Finished the day with some variations of tricep extensions until I felt a deep burn. Finished with abs.

Pull Day 1, first deadlift. I've been excited for this for a while, probably my favorite lift. It just sort of epitomizes power lifting. "I lift big weight". You're truly just picking up a heavy, metal object, then setting it back down. Simple. Just remember to bring your feet to the bar, grip tight, pre-activate your back, engage your core, knees behind the toes, and, and, and... Look, if you don't know how to deadlift, don't learn from me. Go to the gym with someone who knows how, have them show you in person. Its a lift where accidents can happen with a pretty minimal return. But its just way too fun.

I wasn't going to go too heavy day 1. My back is still strong from some light workouts during quarantine, but it takes some practice to get all of your muscles working together for a lift. Make sure your core is ready to handle the weight. Know how to engage before the lift. Started with 25's. Light. Went up to 135 pounds. Frankly, felt pretty good. Two sets of eight, then added 50 more pounds. Manageable, just didn't want to overdo it. My right forearm got a little tight by the third set, but this went away pretty quickly. Went over to middle pulldowns, but started way too light. Same happened with dumbbell rows. But this is why you keep track. For the first time, I'm writing all my workouts to remember how much I was lifting each week. I finished the day again with accessory work. Cable front pulldowns for lats, rear delt fly kickbacks. I want to make sure I work on my rear delts because I notice the typical gym-rat bod neglects those smaller muscles. This will give a fuller shoulder, not one that rolls over into your back. Finished with some curls for the girls[biceps]. Feels good to leave the gym after deadlift. Take it easy on your lower back for the rest of the day.

Leg Day 1. First day back on leg, you know what that means. Squats. Quite honestly, the ultimate leg workout. Some powerlifters swear by heavy squats daily for all the leg work you need. I don't know about all that, but I will typically do less lifts on days that I squat. Best place to use your energy is in the rack. I also want to figure out my "heavy 6", aka the most weight you can hit 6 reps of. Next week will be 3 sets of the "heavy 6's". These type of group sets are good for strength building. My heavy 6 for squat seems like it'll only be around 185. Nothing impressive at all, but I think squat will see the quickest improvement. Form and depth were a big focus, I want to make sure both are on point for when I max in 3 weeks. After squats came RDL's which I'll need to go heavier on in the future. From there, I ended with accessory work: extensions, curls, and calf raises. Also for future workouts, I'll want to spice up leg day 1, maybe with more lunges. This helps mobility and single leg strength. Always room to improve going forward! But tomorrow, we rest.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.