Longevity logo

Tarot Anyone?

I swear I’m NOT a witch!

By Taniya LashayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As long as I could remember, I’ve always felt different. I always wondered about the unknown, and often could sense how other people felt...even if they weren’t around me. From the young age of 8, I have always wondered about things that no one else cared to think about. Of course, back in the 90’s, this kind of behavior was just seen as a “wild imagination” or just plain crazy.

When I was 13, I remember my dreams started be very vivid. Often times, I would have dreams about certain situations, and in a matter of weeks, sometimes days, it would happen. Even back then, I chalked it up to just having deja vu, or a strange coincidence. Still, my curiosity peaked, and I became drawn to things like astrology, numerology and tarot.

Growing up in the black community, these things were often called black magic or evil. Many people used to call me a witch for even being interested in this kind of stuff, but I didn’t care. It wasn’t until I suffered my first true heartbreak that I began to get into the world of tarot. I wanted some guidance from God, the universe, SOMEBODY! It started with me going on websites that did “automatic” readings for you, and from there I went to YouTube. There were hundreds of Tarot readers on there, all claiming to be accurate, most of them were just blowing smoke.

After a couple of years of watching YouTube tarot readers, I mustered up the courage to buy my own Tarot deck. I remember it like it was yesterday. I took a deep breath and walked into the half priced book store that was up the street from my place. I went to the “metaphysical” aisle and stood there. There was a part of me that felt a little embarrassed about what people may say if they saw me there, but I felt so drawn to tarot. I felt like it was what I was meant to do. I found a used deck for like $3.99, quickly made the purchase, and rushed home to open it. As soon as all the cards collapsed into my lap, I felt a sense of happiness. I thought to myself that I now have the answers to everything. While I soon figured out that there were no absolutes in tarot, I also discovered that it was one hell of a guide. Time went by, and I began to find accuracy in almost every reading I did on myself or people close to me. “That’s it,” I thought. “I’m making a YouTube channel.”

On December 15th, 2020 I created “Intuitive Taniya.” My first few tarot readings were for the zodiac signs, Capricorn, Libra and Gemini. I remember posting them and instantly felt anxious and excited. Within seconds, I had over 50 views on each video and 100 subscribers. As I scrolled through the comments, I continually read the same kind of comments thanking me for giving them guidance or confirmation about someone. While most people are on YouTube for money and fame, I got on YouTube to help people. It’s an unexplainable feeling that I get from reading cards and knowing that I may have helped changed someone’s life. Three months had passed, and I was already monetized. While it was unexpected, I was very grateful to now get paid from doing something that I loved. Doing tarot may not be the traditional hobby or craft, but it sure does make other people happy. People don’t realize how much time and energy goes into doing tarot readings. The worse you feel, the bigger chances of your reading being inaccurate. To this day, I still feel excited to turn my camera on to do a reading because I know someone out there will benefit greatly from it. Whether it’s helping them go through a divorce, or giving them the tea on their new love interest, I got their backs.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.