Longevity logo

Surviving Quarantine

Looking At The Positive While In Isolation

By Alex FPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

These past few weeks have been pretty brutal for us. Staying indoors and remaining in isolation is a challenge that many of us were not prepared for. But here we are smacked in the middle of a global pandemic. We are being constantly bombarded with all kinds of information revealing the horrors of this virus threat. Being shown all the chaos through the news and media also puts us in a state of unrest, fear, and panic even if you are unaware that it is happening. Honestly, it feels like the apocalypse and end of the world has begun. But do not stress, this is definitely not the end, and all of this noise will be silenced soon, but until then, we need to focus on the light at the end of this tunnel.

Just For Context...

Because of the virus, I have been unemployed for just under a month now. I have applied for unemployment but no checks have come in yet. I have some type of error that needs to be corrected and I need to call in. However, I can't get through on the phone. Even though they insist on calling to complete a claim, it is forever busy or the line just hangs up or you get the message regarding the high volume of incoming calls and that you should go back to the website to file a claim. It's like a sick joke. A never ending loop. This has caused me so much frustration and stress since I am now depending on income that I do not have the ability to claim. I am sure many of us are experiencing the same thing.

As well, I have been living alone during this time. I have no significant other or friends to interact with and even though I am in the comfort of my home, it sometimes feels like a jail cell. While having free time can be a good thing, in an isolated environment it can become a battle of the mind, and surviving your mind can be the most difficult challenge for some of us. Your mind can take you to some dark places when you're left alone with nothing going on.

For me, I have been struggling with my loneliness and the anxiety that comes with it. I find my mind automatically digs up past memories and tries to relive the times when I wasn't alone. This in itself can be self destructive. Even though they are good memories, focusing on the person you would like to be with who isn't there, only adds pressure to the situation. Another thing that was frustrating me was knowing that none of my close friends reached out to check to see if I was okay. I began to feel forgotten and abandoned. While this is not the case, my mind was drifting to an extreme negative and I began to feel despair. When I became aware of this I knew this needed to make a change for my own mental health.

Light At The End Of The Tunnel

It probably seems like there is no end to the negativity, the mental suffering, or the stress of trying to sort out finances and necessities during this time. But rest assured there is a bright side to all of this chaos. With all this free time, we have a chance to self reflect and make changes to better ourselves and our future no matter where we are currently. Self reflection is difficult and if you do not have quiet time to just focus on yourself and soul search, it is really difficult pinpoint how to move forward. Look at this time as an opportunity to refresh yourself, recharge, and find new strength.

Stay Productive

Instead of allowing yourself to stay mentally tied down, try to come up with a daily schedule for things you want to accomplish. If necessary make a list of small things you need to do that normally you would not take the time to complete. Perhaps you can reach out to old friends and family members you haven't spoken to in a long time, at least to make sure they are doing okay. Maybe read that book that you've always wanted to read but you never had any time to. If possible try an at home workout routine that will help you change things up and stay in good health, and improve your mood. As challenging as it is, try your best to see the positives with the time we have been given and use it wisely.

For myself, I love writing but I never make enough time to write because of the tunnel vision that comes from the daily work grind. This was an opportunity to flex my writing muscles and get these words out to anyone willing to read them. As well it was a chance for me to self reflect and put to rest a lot of things that were disturbing me mentally. I was able to self reflect, take time to think and analyze my situation, and figure out why I was feeling so negative, without the pressure of having to go back to work on my shoulders. It has been a challenging and difficult situation but I am working through it with an open and positive mind. And as for the financial situation going on, I am continuing to call on a daily basis. Hopefully one of my calls will go through, but I'm not giving up.

The struggles of quarantined isolation are real, look out for yourself and one another

For the next few weeks try to focus on what you can improve now that you have the time. As well lets focus on helping and caring for each other where we can.

If possible take time to care for yourself as well. Take a bath, watch an awesome show, read a self help book, drink a tea and relax. Sometimes just taking a back seat and allowing yourself to rest does wonders for your mind and body. I'm sure many of us need a break from the constant commuting back and forth to and from work.

Finally, life is short we need to make the most of what we have and encourage each other when times get harsh. This is one of those times and it will affect us all differently. Be aware of your surroundings and pay attention to your loved ones. Be sure to stay safe and cover up if you need to leave your homes. While you are home, reach out to others if you need help with anxiety or if you're just feeling lonely. Also call a friend or neighbor if you think they might need help. A simple phone call to someone who needs it could make all the difference. Keep the love for humanity strong. We will overcome this catastrophe together and be stronger for it.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alex F

Gamer. Writer. Advice giver. Rising up out of poverty in all its forms and bringing everyone I can with me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.