Longevity logo

Summer Lovin': Staying Local, Going Inward

making the most of summer 2020 during lockdown

By Paulina LeangPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4
Summer Lovin': Staying Local, Going Inward
Photo by Ethan Robertson on Unsplash

The Coronavirus may have thrown a wrench in my summer plans for 2020, and let’s be real, even my long term plans have seemingly have gone up in smoke… but I still want to make the most of it. Time doesn’t wait for anyone.

Even though day-to-day life doesn’t look the way it did just four short months ago, and long overdue recognition of systemic racism is finally happening, I still think that we all deserve to live rich and fulfilling lives.

With lockdown, and a lot of reflection time, I have reconnected to the deeper realization about just how lucky I am to call California’s Central Coast “home.” The Central Coast is full of natural beauty, and this summer, I plan to make the most out of lockdown by being a (responsible) local tourist.

By Luke Dahlgren on Unsplash

In pre-COVID-19 times, it was easy to spend days working long hours and forgetting to just enjoy the simple things. Even though the beach was just a few minutes away, I hardly went. Even though this region is chockfull of vineyards and tasting rooms, I couldn't remember the last time I went wine tasting for leisure. Even though I love writing and taking photos, I hardly took the time to nurture my creative practices. I was, as they say, living to work, and not working to live. Since my work life was turned upside down, I really had to really reconnect with what it means to be alive and to just simply live life.

Here, in San Luis Obispo County, we have beaches, trails, state parks, and nature preserves where I can spend time outdoors and while maintaining social distance. There is literally a hiking trail just steps from my front door, but embarassingly enough, I didn’t take the time to check it out until lockdown.

By Simon Rae on Unsplash

Reconnecting with nature has been immensely helpful for my mental health. As a free spirit who loves change and variety, living in lockdown feels like a direct contradiction to who I am as a person. Routine gets monotonous, and I understand that that is kind of the point of routine, but everyday was becoming a Groundhog Day of sorts. But by getting out into nature, I am able to get out of my head and back into my body. It helps me realize that my problems are truly small in the grand scheme of things, and that's the sort of reminder that I need more often than I would like to admit. This summer, I plan on continuing to spend time outdoors, hiking coastal trails and meditating, and reconnecting with myself.

By photo-nic.co.uk nic on Unsplash

I miss going into the yoga studio for a vinyasa flow as much as I'm sure the rest of you do too. And, honestly, trying to take a Zoom class in a tiny cramped bedroom just doesn’t do it for me. Even though practicing yoga in-studio or at home are not viable options for myself, I plan on rolling out my mat on the beach, and taking my yoga practice outdoors. This way, I get my daily dose of sunshine and asanas--which sounds like a win-win to me.

By kike vega on Unsplash

This summer, I plan on tapping back into my creativity. After reading the Artist's Way by Julia Cameron, I realized how powerful it is to have some sort of consistent daily creative practice. Writing is an activity I come back to time and time again, and honestly, something that I plan to continue doing for the rest of my life.

Most importantly, this summer, I plan on being more kind to myself. It’s challenging to not be where I think I should be in life, while opportunities for something better are seemingly more limited during a pandemic. Things just don’t always go according to plan, and blaming myself for it doesn’t help.

This summer, I plan on appreciating everything that is right in front of me, reconnecting with nature, getting creative, and as cheesy as it is, loving myself. Summer Lovin' starts with you. I hope that you are able to join me on this journey, too. Cheers to Summer 2020!

lifestyle
4

About the Creator

Paulina Leang

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.