Longevity logo

Still Rest

Breathe in the moment

By Lenita LeiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Still Rest
Photo by Max Vertsanov on Unsplash

What is Rest?

Did you know there are many definitions for the word rest in accordance with the online dictionary?

Look at this brief list:

1) Cease work or movement to relax, recover, sleep or gain strength.

2) Allow being inactive to recover or gain strength.

3) To lay down.

4) To place or support in a specified position.

5) Resting, as a type of look.

6) To be based upon, as per history.

7) Place hope, trust toward another, as an act of resting behaviour.

8) The responsibility or final word being with a person in authority.

9) An instant or moment of time.

10) A motionless state.

11) An object used to support something else.

12) [Specific to Music]: An interval of silence.

Does anyone else find it interesting how one simple, four-letter word has SO many meanings?

Sparking further curiosity was the synonyms to the word rest. Check out this list!

- Slow down

- Pause

- Idle

- Do nothing

- Take it easy

- Unwind

- Recharge one’s batteries

- Destress

- Kick-back

- Repose

- … and the list went on. Honestly, check it out for yourself some time!

Being highly fascinated with the field of Human Behaviour I’ve had the privilege to listen to a few psychological classes regarding the topic of rest and lack of it creating immediate stress. Think back over the past two years with the pandemic. Not really the sight of rest right? Even with the frequent lockdowns. Perhaps more stress than rest.

I believe rest needs to be not only accessed on the body level but in the mind and soul as well. Thinking of my family and culture, I can see how physical rest has been promoted. Can hear my parents’ voices in my head even now: “Do what you will just make sure you are getting 8 hours of rest!” But what of psychological rest? What of personal rest?

By Yasmina H on Unsplash

Focus for 2022

Often, I’ve let any idea of a New Year’s Resolution fade into the background. However, I am BIG on changes that move toward growth! From 2020 until the present, I have endured long hard battles with psychological adjustments, through trauma to a place of recovery and from ongoing burnout to rest. Include in this being a single parent raising a toddler – almost feel like saying rest is now in the negative value. But that wouldn’t be true. Through support, I have established ways to REST THOROUGHLY!

I can happily say the focus for 2022 is to be obedient to my values. Honouring them can serve my best life. I can gain rest for the body, mind, and soul. With respect to invitations, events, opportunities, and extra tasks, each will need to pass through a personalised filter. Will the task lead to greater burnout? Am I doing the event solely for others? Will this opportunity be a time of growth, or do I already have these skills? As an introvert these are fundamental questions, I often ask in my filtering. Especially with social interaction, as it wears me thin, creating grumpiness very quickly!

In short, 2022 will be:

The year of obedience, staying true to the real me; my values. Capturing the moment, being still.

I highly recommend some quiet time on the 31st of December to think about the year gone, what happened, what you had hoped to happen or achieve. Then dig deep and think about a statement you can hold true for yourself regarding restful behaviours for 2022. That way when things get rough next year, refer to your 2022 Mission Statement!

By Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

The Benefits

Often when I hear the word rest, it reminds me of doctors’ orders with a common cold or virus.

“Be sure to stay well hydrated and get plenty of rest.”

By National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I’ve tested this! The time when my son was a few weeks old. Those short nights and shock of change to the system (c’mon parents you know what I’m talking about here) well a common cold sure caught up with me. Letting my parents care for the baby so I could go home and get some extra rest. Tell you what, that extra rest was about 4 hours of deep sleep and when I woke, there was so much energy within! In other times when I’ve felt under the weather, I’ve committed to an early night’s rest. Guess what? The next day feels back to normal self. Rest is incredible to the human system!

A different rest I’ve encountered is through hobbies and interests. When life has become too busy, piled with commitments and stress. Having a time out to read a book, invest in a personal hobby, or block out some 'me time', can restore the system. Just like rest.

On a soul level, I believe each of us have things we gravitate towards. For me this is water. An absolute favourite after swimming laps is to tread in the deep end where feet cannot reach the ground. To slow down the breathing and movements to a soft stillness. Nose barely above the water level, I close my eyes and take in the moment. For me, that is pure rest. Purely energising at 6 am in cold water to invigorate the body for the unknown tasks the day will present. Bliss!

By Erik Dungan on Unsplash

On a final note of rest and stillness, think about the remake movie Karate Kid (2010). If you haven’t watched it, I highly recommend it!

Mr Han explains to Dre Parker the essence of stillness. A woman with a cobra made the snake copy her movements due to the calm, stillness in her mind, body, and soul.

“The snake reflected the woman, like still water.” Mr Han

“Like a mirror.” Dre Parker

What could the power of stillness through rest look like for you in 2022?

Restful New Year <3

Upload from Susan Sanders via Pinterest from Karate Kid film (2010) Michelle Yeoh is the Snake Charmer

health
2

About the Creator

Lenita Lei

Life is intense, as is suspense!

Tune in as words come to life through your imagination.

Fiction and Non-Fiction: Just let me write!

Australian-Finnish <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.