Longevity logo

Stay Mentally Healthy During Isolation

Ways to keep yourself mentally well and happy during quarantine.

By Maria Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

At the moment, many people around the world are stuck inside due to COVID-19 and the self-isolation rules. Even though it is great that we are looking after our physical health by self-isolating, we need to make sure to look after our mental health and as an individual who suffers from mental health issues, such as Depression, Anxiety and Aspergers Syndrome, I, myself have had to find ways to keep myself mentally well and stable during these times. So I thought, what better way to pass time then share some information and knowledge on how I keep myself mentally well inside for those who may need a helping hand! So I hope this helps some one who is reading this.

What I think is really important to keeping your mental health well and healthy is keeping a routine to your day, because as your normal day of maybe getting up going to work or school etc has gone, you might find yourself a bit lost during the day or feel like your not doing anything, which could cause depressive thoughts and feelings and possible feelings of anxiety, especially with everything going on. So I think it's really good to get yourself a routine sorted for you day. For Example, I wake up, have breakfast, work out then shower and do some house work and any other jobs I need to get done before having some relax time for myself. It may also be good to give yourself a sleeping schedule as I know many peoples body clocks will have changed, this can effect your mental well being so making sure you get plenty of rest at the right hours is also very important for your mental health. If needed, make a chart or a To Do list everyday so you have a plan or a list of things to do through out the day and tick them off as you go along, which leads onto my next tip.

Try and Find things to do. Now, I know this can sound very basic and boring, however it's best to keep your mind occupied, so no negative thoughts or feeling can poke their way into your brain and disturb your day. Try and learn something new such as, cooking, arts and crafts or anything of your interest! It could even be as simple as watching a film to playing an old game you used to enjoy, Even cleaning your room! Anything to keep you busy from them horrible thoughts and feelings out your mind because when you are given nothing to do, sometimes you end up just thinking and thinking which could make your thoughts spiral into a big ball of negativity and we don't need that right now!

It's also a great time to practice relaxation skills and how to control them anxieties and thoughts that you have been dealing with. Learn some breathing methods to keep yourself calm or even follow a meditation video on Youtube, any method that suits you. Think of this time as a positive time to improve on yourself and your health and focus on yourself a bit more then you usually would, because your health is very important, physical or mental and I know with everything going on in the world and not being able to do much it can make us sit and think more about life and ourselves but sadly not always in a positive way, so also maybe keeping a journal or writing down your thoughts and feelings just to get them out of your mind and onto some paper can maybe make you feel more stress free and relaxed. What I sometimes do when writing my thoughts and feelings of the day, I write at least one positive. This positive could be as simple as, I took a shower or I finished my favorite serious on Netflix, because one positive is better than none. Plus, this helps your brain focus on the positives more than the negatives that your brain is telling you and that aren't probably true, however I understand its not as easy as saying it and it takes time and patience, ,maybe ask a family member or friend to help or support you through these tasks if needed, as we all need a bit of help in life, no matter your gender or age.

I hope this helped some people who aren't feeling 100% and has made them feel a bit more positive about their day. Thank you for reading and stay safe and healthy, physically and mentally.

mental health
1

About the Creator

Maria

I'm Maria!

I enjoy writing about my large variety of things, from non-fiction stories, to fiction writing about daily life or serious topics related to our day to day lives. I am also a student, who students English Lit and Creative writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.