Longevity logo

Starting a New Workout Routine

Never give up, you can do it.

By Isaac MiddletonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello friends, fans, and family,

I hope that you are having an awesome day. And if you are not having a good day, then I am hopeful that after reading this you will be having an awesome day. I started a new workout routine and food intake program for the purpose of losing weight and trimming up. It is a big thing for me because I love to eat, and I also enjoy sweets. I also developed a community of friends in the place that I ate at. So, I felt compelled to go there and I wanted to go because my friends were there. This became a problem when I decided to eat better and lose weight and to get back into the gym.

You see, I could not do both. I could not eat all of the junk food that I wanted to eat while chatting with my friends, and also get back into the gym. Getting back in shape was and is very important to me but I could not go to the gym and eat nothing but junk food. I tried, yes, I tried to eat junk food and hang out with friends. But one or the other began to suffer. So, I had to make some choices and of course I talked to my friends about it and they said that I should not even try to get back in shape. Because I was at the spot in my life where I would not, and I could not change and that I should just gave up.

I did have some friends who supported me. But most of them felt hurt because I would not eat all the junk food and drink all of the alcohol that I used to eat and drink. They said, that it felt like I was separating myself from them and that it was weird to have me around them anymore. Honestly, I was trying so hard to be a part of the circle that I have known for so long. So, it was the opposite, however, I found myself talking about my achievements in the gym and I was told that they thought that I was bragging, and I really was not bragging. I was just so happy to be back in the gym and to see the progress that I was making in the gym. I wanted to share this awesome information with my friends. In the conversation I quickly realized that the information that I was putting out was not well received or wanted.

Some people are born with perfect genetics. They don't have to work hard in the gym to get the body that they want. They can miss a few meals and/or eat all they want because they got the body that they want. Or, they can eat all the junk food that they want and still maintain that perfect body. If you're like me then you must work hard, extremely hard. If I had to say something about myself and genetics, then I would say I am the opposite of the person with perfect genetics.

Some people tell me that they can't work out and be healthy because of their poor genetics. They tell me that they have or are at risk for high blood pressure and high cholesterol and so on. So, I am going to tell you like I told them. You should get approval from your doctor. Get your doctor's advice and even their recommendation(s). Once you are cleared by your doctor to work out, eat healthy, whatever. Then at that moment you have no excuses. So, stop giving yourself reasons to slack off. If you did not work out for three or more days and you’re on your fifth day with no working out, you're slacking. If your fast food day/cheat day is more than just one day a week, you're slacking. If you have gone three months or more and you have not evaluated your fitness program, you're slacking. You need to always evaluate your fitness and health programs to see where you can improve yourself and improve the program.

I am going to close with, be the best version on yourself that you can be. Your mindset is everything. You must train your mind as well as your body. The most powerful tool that you have in your possession is your mind. Yes, each person is different and yes, it is harder for some people than other people. So, don't worry about them, focus on yourself. Do what you need to do to stay focused on your fitness and health goals.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Middleton

I am an actor, writer, streamer on twitch, and blogger. I am also a fitness pro and motivator. If you would like to know more just ask.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.