Longevity logo

Six Reasons to Do Zumba and Yoga

Health, Self Love, Diet

By Jennifer McIntoshPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

Two of the best exercises that I love and enjoy are Zumba and Yoga. There are many reasons to love both kinds of exercises, but I am going to share a few reasons with you, alongside why I love them both.

Reason One: The Amount of Calories You Can Burn

Now this all depends on how much time you take to do each exercise, but the amount of time I recommend you do Zumba is about an hour.

I have done it before and it’s supposed to be a real calorie burner. About 500-600 calories at least, and that is the amount you would supposedly burn if you do it for that long. For yoga, I would suggest 25-30 minutes, and you would supposedly burn around 140-200 calories.

Reason Two: They can help relieve stress.

For Zumba, I find it’s very relieving because you are having so much fun learning new dance moves, and zoning out into a world of dance, that you forget everything that is happening in reality. The minute you finish, I find you feel more cheerful and you have no negative feelings about your problems.

With yoga, it is very helpful with clearing the mind, much like meditation. It’s the kind of thing where you just focus on your breathing, letting go of any problems, and like Zumba, you temporarily forget the real world. And once you’re done, you feel more awake, because this sort of exercise will leave you feeling refreshed and more alert.

Reason Three: They will help improve your posture.

Zumba is not just intense dancing. There are also warm up routines and cool down routines as well, because it is never a good idea to just jump into intense dancing. Like any other dance class, it will always start and finish with a number of good stretches to help improve your flexibility and posture.

With yoga, it is basically one of those exercises out there that focuses on flexibility and posture by doing various stretches. However, yoga has exercises that are fairly intense as well, but not as intense as the exercises in Zumba.

Those exercises will focus on certain body parts, and the more you do those exercises, the more flexible you will become. If you combine both Zumba and yoga, and do the exercises daily, I’d imagine you would find yourself more flexible in no time.

Reason Four: They will help you gain more muscle.

Like every other exercise, Zumba is one of those things that will help you gain muscle, but of course, you need to exercise continuously. Zumba is full of intense dance moves for the most part, and because you are moving around constantly, you are sure to gain muscle all over the place within six weeks to a couple months.

Of course, that is only if you exercise everyday. Yoga will help out with this as well. Of course, you will need to combine the intense stretches with the more soothing and calm ones. Always remember, your muscles may hurt, but the more work you're doing, the more strong your muscles will become.

Reason Five: They are fun exercises to do.

If you enjoy dance, then Zumba will be a great exercise for you! For me, I’ve been in dance classes before, and I only learned about Zumba five to six years ago. But it’s a very fun exercise, because you not only learn new dance moves, but the music makes it just as enjoyable, and you will likely grow to love one of the routines!

Yoga can be fun as well, because you know, who doesn’t love a good session of stretching those muscles out after an intense workout? What makes it fun is that there are people there that you can laugh with, and they will make sure you are comfortable and enjoying the session. And if you’re like me, you will probably have a favourite exercise that you will love the most.

Reason Six: You get a taste of a different culture.

Unfortunately, I cannot remember where Zumba began, but it came from a country where Spanish was the native language. And if you have an open mind and don’t mind songs from different places in the world, you will likely begin to love some of the songs, even if they are in a different language.

Yoga, however, was started in India, I believe, and you get a taste of the Indian culture because of some of the music they may play during the sessions. I, for one, have grown to love it, because the music can just make you feel like you’ve travelled to India mentally and emotionally.

There are probably many other reasons which I haven’t mentioned, but I still recommend both to all of you. Both have become my favourite exercises because they aren’t too hard to do, although both do have certain techniques that take more time than the others to learn, but it’s so worth it!

Unfortunately for me, though, I haven’t done both exercises in while, but I have been telling myself in more ways than one to get back into it. Surely, with time, both will be a kickstart to my journey, and they will certainly help with anyone else’s journey as well!

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer McIntosh

I’m 29 and from Canada. I am a dog mama of a growing West Highland terrier, and I write anytime I can, (for the first time in a while). Come check out my stories anytime, there will always be something to read. Happy writing everyone😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.