Longevity logo

Self-isolation: Preventing Loneliness, Boredom & Cabin Fever!

Don't Let Yourself Go Insane!

By Stand Corrected EditingPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Self-isolation: Preventing Loneliness, Boredom & Cabin Fever!
Photo by Christopher Windus on Unsplash

I never thought Brexit would lose its spot on front page news, but here were are. Some individuals are used to being indoors for prolonged periods of time, but many are at risk of loneliness, intense boredom and cabin fever. Although the Coronavirus causes physical suffering, we need to think about our mental wellbeing as well. Of course, individuals who contract the virus will be concentrating on recovery, so these issues will be the least of their worries, but how can the rest of us cope during lockdown for weeks on end?

Combating Loneliness

Loneliness is high on our list of worries when we think of our towns and cities being locked down for another month, especially for the elderly and those who live alone. A lot of us struggle to stay in for one day, let alone for the majority of the year.

Regular Communication

If you always have an electronic device in your hand, now is the time to take full advantage of that. We're lucky to live in a time where instant communication is at the click of a button; there are so many free social platforms like WhatsApp, Skype and Messenger, it's almost impossible to lose connection with others.

By Oleg Magni on Unsplash

Vulnerable people: individuals over 70, people with medical issues and pregnant women have been advised to "shield themselves" for 12 weeks, so it's important to stay in contact with family and friends.

There has been a lot of confusion over the last few weeks around what constitutes as having health issues, so if you're still unsure, please click the link below to find out if you are in the vulnerable category:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-guidance-on-social-distancing-and-for-vulnerable-people/guidance-on-social-distancing-for-everyone-in-the-uk-and-protecting-older-people-and-vulnerable-adults

If you recognise yourself in this list, please do everything you can to ensure you have a reliable support network who can answer calls and messages. If you're not in the vulnerable group, please reach out to people who could potentially suffer from loneliness during this tough time. Don't forget - we're it's not over yet and people still need help!

Sound

I can relate to the joy of soaking up the silence after a long day at work, but after months of isolation, there is nothing worse than silence. It sounds silly, but having another voice in the background makes me feel less alone, so I encourage anyone to try it while in isolation. Typical daytime telly is my go to - it's often live with presenters talking directly to their viewers, creating the illusion that they are in the room with them. Call me weird, but we could all use something to make us feel safe in a time like this.

Befriending Services

It's all well and good advising people to call relatives and put the telly on, but I'm also aware that some people don't have that option. Sadly, some people, particularly the elderly, have limited family and support at their fingertips, therefore having to rely on national services who help tackle loneliness.

By Huy Phan on Unsplash

Services that provide free befriending services include:

Age UK - https://www.ageuk.org.uk/services/befriending-services/sign-up-for-telephone-befriending/

Independent Age - https://www.independentage.org/get-support/receive-regular-phone-calls

MHA - https://www.mha.org.uk/live-home/befriending/

I would also recommend checking out the Mind website for extra support regarding mental health, whether young or old: https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/support-community-elefriends/

Coping with Boredom & Cabin Fever

Boredom and cabin fever sort of come hand in hand. They aren't the same, but both can result in restlessness and irritability for many people. I certainly end up suffering with cabin fever if I'm inside for more than 2 days with nothing to do, so here are some activities you could get up to during lockdown.

I'm lucky to be working from home at a time like this, so most of my time will be spent copy editing manuscripts for clients, typing up feedback reports and updating my social media pages. However, even I need breaks from what I love to do.

Reading

I'm in no way a psychic, but I bet you a tenner you have a stack of books you can never find the time to read. Snap, me too!

Although being isolated due to a virus isn't something to be joyful about, having a pile of books to finally get through kind of is. It's a great way to pass time, fight boredom and take your mind away from the horrors of Covid-19.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Get Creative

Besides editing, I have a hidden love for painting, especially with acrylics, but I never have the time with daily life getting in the way. I wouldn't call myself an artist, but I've learnt that painting is an effective way to soothe my anxiety, which is much needed in these desperate times. So, if you have a hobby you never get time to pursue, why not pick it back up now?

Get Productive

Some people are great at this, and others (like me) really aren't, but there's nothing worse than feeling trapped while surrounded by...stuff. Being cooped up for days on end may be a good time to have a clear out and catch up on the chores and housework. I don't know about you, but I always feel lighter after a good declutter and a deep clean.

By Andreas Klassen on Unsplash

Redecorate

This didn't occur to me at first, but a bit of DIY isn't a bad idea for passing the time, maybe I'll give it a go, too!

Netflix and ill

I say this one lightly as watching too much TV is never good, but no one ever has enough time nowadays to finish boxsets or have movie marathons...so I'd make the most of it while you can. You may not get another chance when everything goes back to normal! Plus, for those who are bedridden due to the virus, curling up in bed with DVDs may be the only thing they can manage.

Games

Whether it’s video games in the comfort of your own bedroom, or Solitaire and paper puzzles, stimulating your mind is another great way to keep the boredom at bay. I’ve certainly been doing both during lockdown! I have a list of PS4 games to catch up on and thankfully, I don’t live alone, so games like Fluxx, Trivial Pursuit and Cluedo have made several appearances.

By Tim Foster on Unsplash

That brings me to my next and final point...

We're all in this Together!

Don't be a stranger with those you live with. If you usually have clashing schedules, use this time to unite as one. Get the games out, bake cookies together, paint silly portraits together, make the most of the time you have together!

Keep well and stay safe!

mental health
Like

About the Creator

Stand Corrected Editing

Hiya! I'm Chelsea and I'm a book editor & proofreader at Stand Corrected Editing, my editorial business in the UK. Feel free to get in touch! :)

Website: standcorrectedediting.com

Instagram: @standcorrected_editing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.