Longevity logo

Self-Care Routine for my Spoonie Soul

My go-to routine for making myself feel better :)

By Chronically MegPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Disclaimer: this is my self-care routine. Feel free to try any of the things mentioned in this article if you feel you are able to do so and that it will help you. If you feel that any of these things may cause you pain or harm (or an allergic reaction), please don't do them! Thank you!

I start my self-care routine by realizing I need to do my self-care routine in the first place. If I've had a rough week and I've not spent a lot of time checking in with myself physically or mentally, it's time. So, I'll head to the bathroom, diet coke in hand (it helps with my nausea and I discovered this thanks to Youtube) and start running a bath. Yes, I'm 25 years old and I take bubble baths. I set the water just right (as hot as the fires of hell) and start washing my face while the bath fills up.

I have very oily skin and bad acne, so I switch between two different face washes. I use Clean & Clear Continuous Control acne cleanser and Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Cleanser. After washing my face with one of those, I get a cotton ball and apply a sensitive skin astringent all over, a generic one I got at my local store. Once my face dries I will usually do a face mask while in the tub. If I don't have a sheet mask, I use Body Prescriptions Detoxifying Charcoal Clay Mask. It comes in a tube that looks like toothpaste, but don't be fooled. It goes on easy enough, but once it dries it takes some scrubbing to get off. But my skin feel amazing afterwards.

So, face mask is applied and I get into the tub, very carefully. I have either filled the water with a bath bomb, bubbles, or Epsom salt. My body thanks me for this does wonders for my fibromyalgia-riddled body. I will turn Spotify on my phone, I specifically have a playlist called "The Pain Playlist" perfect for self-care time or whenever I need a distraction from whatever body part hurts at the moment. I use Dove body wash to clean myself and Garnier Fructis Grow Strong 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner for my hair (what little I have of it). By the time I do all this, I'm quite tired and the heat of the water has made my POTs mad AF. So, I sit in the tub the whole time the water is draining. It helps my body adjust back to a normal temperature, stops my head from spinning, and I can rest a minute.

After carefully (CAREFULLY) getting out of the tub, I head over to the sink again and will brush my teeth. Between gastroparesis and depression, my teeth haven't been doing too well lately. I recently switched to Sensodyne Repair and Protect toothpaste and it has been an… adjustment. It tastes fine, very minty and all that, it's a texture thing. It's thick and doesn't react like a normal toothpaste. But it has been helping my teeth, so I can't complain too much.

After leaving the bathroom, Spotify still playing, I will do one of two things:

  1. If I have enough spoons left (my self-care does take spoons, yes) I will get dressed in clean clothes or pajamas.
  2. If I don't have a lot of spoons left, I will flop unceremoniously onto my bed in my towel and stay there until I find the will to live.

And then, I will either nap or catch up on my favorite Dungeons & Dragons YouTube series (Life of the Party from Nyxrising Industries). Yes, I'm a nerd and I'm not ashamed of it.

Point of this: self-care is important and different for everyone. Sometimes self-care can be a plus spoons experience, or it can take spoons (like my self-care does). Do what makes you feel good. Yes, I might be exhausted afterwards, but my body will thank me later for this. Do what will make you feel better, mentally and physically. Make time for you!

If any of this helps you, awesome! If it's not for you, that's cool too! If you enjoyed this article, please consider sharing with your friends! I appreciate all the love a support! - Meg :)

self care
2

About the Creator

Chronically Meg

Disabled. Witch. Pagan. Satanist. Skeptic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.