Longevity logo

Reviewing Trisha Paytas' Crystal Collection

Adding my thoughts on her crystals

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Reviewing Trisha Paytas' Crystal Collection
Photo by Sara Johnston on Unsplash

I wasn't aware that Trisha Paytas had a crystal collection. This video is about a month old, but I thought I'd share my thoughts and opinions on it anyways. If you don't know me, my name is Erin, and I have been collecting crystals for two years. I also work in a crystal store.

You don't need to know everything about crystals to be a spiritual person. I mean, plenty of people collect them for their value and appearance. Not to mention the field of geology that has nothing to do with the metaphysical. I just saw some beginner mistakes that I made and wanted to share them if anyone was interested.

  • Her rose quartz

Paytas has a ton of rose quartz, which isn't surprising considering that they are a beautiful and readily available crystal. I briefly wanted to talk about the rose quartz tower in her left hand. (If you have no idea what I'm talking about, here's my beginner's cheat sheet!)

It's hard to tell with the lighting, but I believe this is an Angel Aura Rose Quartz. I put an example photo at the start. If you've ever heard of silver-plated jewelry, the same applies here with crystals. Basically, people will dust crystals (usually quartz) with a mix of metals, crushed-up other crystals, and pigment to get an iridescent look. Many think that this hinders a crystal's legitimacy. It really boils down to individual preference. If you ask me if it was a real crystal, to begin with, it's still a legit crystal.

As a side note, it's possible to find real rainbows in crystals if that's what you're looking for. Natural rainbows can occur in crystals like amethyst, quartz, and citrine. This effect really does depend on conditions like opacity and chemical formation. Keep in mind that these are a tad more expensive especially if the piece is tumbled, carved, or a sizable crystal.

  • Sun Damaged Crystals

Certain crystals can get faded in the sun. Amethyst is the one I'm focused on in Paytas's video. It depends on the vendor and the treatment of the crystal. Sometimes they arrive at consumers in a soft lilac color. If you want to preserve a dark purple specimen, keep it out of the sunlight. I didn't know this the first time I bought amethyst. My first piece compared to my most recent piece look drastically different, despite them both looking the same when I got them.

  • Selenite and Tiger's Eye

She describes selenite, and I want to tweak her definition of its properties a little. Selenites are commercially known as charging crystals, which is why they don't need cleansing. You also see selenites come in tons of shapes like plates and bowls, so you can conveniently place your other pieces on top and have them charge. Her Tiger's Eye comes up as well (and it's such a pretty piece.) She mentions it's for protection, which is true. I did want to add that I see Tiger's Eye described as abundance and prosperity as well.

Those are a few notes I had from the video. I know Trisha Paytas has a record of trolling and hopping from topic to topic. Initially, I didn't want to add more attention to her brand, but she has such a large audience. I thought that talking about this might help those interested. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. If you want to support me and my content, please like, share, or subscribe. Don't forget to follow me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0!

Here is my Vocal page

Here is my website

Here is my Instagram

Here is where I got the photo from earlier. ^

Can't get enough crystals? Here are some of my other posts you can binge

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.