Longevity logo

Restful Resolutions

I'm Done Promising to Work, Harder or Smarter

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

"Life is what happens when you're busy making other plans."

John Lennon

Did you know that the human body can make a tent passably warm, like a comfortable yet fresh cocoon, even in the blistering cold of a Scottish night? Or that a foxes scream sound like a human child in the wilderness? Do you know that in the quieter parts of the world you can see by the light of the stars and moon quite easily - or that skinny dipping near Santa Monica pier is certain to end in a close call with the coast guard?

If you didn't, you do now - I found these things out in the quiet, spontaneous moments between work, hustle, education, and planning. I learned these things in the snatched moments, the frenetic moments, the blurred moments, and so I have very little recollection of any details. These sharp, little facts come through, however, and remind me of how lucky I have been to have friends who don't prioritize the 'hustle' and forced productivity (something I now think is unhealthy) but instead want to live. Over the last three years, work has become my life - I have let these moments slip away and I am neither wealthier nor happier. I make no resolutions about work for 2022 because my life cannot be about work - it has to be funded by work, not made of it.

My Restful Resolutions

Rest does not have to mean stagnation or inertia, but can instead be about restoration - see how those words nestle together so nicely? Some of my resolutions involve sleep, most are about other kinds of rest. The goal, either way, is to let life in little by little and to allow myself to flourish, little by little, in ways that don't centre my working life.

Practice Good Sleep Hygiene

I started to experience the benefits of sleeping naked a long time ago, but beyond this, my schedule and 'sleep hygiene' are pretty chaotic. As well as being depressed and needing to lose weight, I struggle with fatigue - so it's time to stop working 13 hour days and prioritize sleeping well and consistently.

'Sleep Hygiene' is a term used to refer to healthy habits which promote high quality, restful sleep. Things like having a regular bedtime, cutting caffeine after a certain time at night, getting the right amount of exercise and limited use of electronics before bed can all impact sleep hygiene. Leaving my phone out of reach at night might be tough, but it's worth a shot!

Get a Better Mattress

Back pain, aching shoulders, chest pain, I've got the lot - I've been doing my research, and while classic memory foam isn't for me, a hybrid mattress seems to offer the right mix of support, comfort, and cooling. The Lull Luxe mattress seems to be one of the better options, though they don't ship to my country just yet so I've been considering alternatives.

Buying a new mattress is a big decision, in my head, because it should last at least 10 years... I'll be 38 before I need a new one. If I buy this one with any kind of foresight. Whew - scary. Neurosis is why I've put off buying it for two years now - and given myself backache into the bargain. This year, I bite the bullet and choose better sleep.

Be Outside for at Least an Hour a Day

Working as a writer is tough - it's one of those jobs that demand long hours for uncertain pay, and this uncertainty can chain you to your computer. Sitting all day is not good for anyone, of course, and during the various lockdowns, I noticed a real nose-dive in my physical and mental wellbeing. So, I'm committing to working less.

Spending an hour, at least, outside with no phone, no music, and no rush to get home (preferably with the dogs) will be good for me. The mental exhaustion that writing can bring on is often hard to fix because writers rarely get enough exercise as a part of their average workday.

Run Far, Lift Heavy

Exercise, real exercise, it may not be restful but it's caring for the body and soul, and it's a part of getting good rest in the long term. That's why I've committed to a year of personal training - get stronger, run farther, and yes probably lose weight as a consequence, but I'm trying my hardest to not make it all about that - there has to be a goal beyond and above looking more like societies idea of a pretty woman, or it won't stick.

Plus, I don't want to be thin, I want to be strong.

Write What Pleases Me

The one resolution I've made that could be considered work is this - write three Vocal Media stories a week, minimum, and enter all Vocal challenges that I have the ability to write for. This is partly to get me into the habit of writing more, partly to help me think outside the box, and partly to create a robust and diverse portfolio for potential clients to consider.

More than anything it's to prove that I can - I can be consistent, despite a brain that's a little on the flaky side. And when it's done, I'll have a years worth of writing to look back at, to see progress in - that will put my worries to rest, a little.

Shut Down at 7pm

Overworking is, as I've said, a bit of a sin of mine. The worst thing about it is that I would be lying to say that all that time is spent at peak productivity. I've resolved to work no later than 7 pm and start no earlier than 7 am. That may still be a 12 hour day, but freelance work does call for the odd double shift.

On a normal day, I'll be aiming for 9 am to 5 pm, just like an office worker. This is the most daunting resolution of all because, truthfully, I'm not very good at not working. I'll need to find a hobby, something beyond marathon-gaming Red Dead Redemption 2 and chain-reading. I'm thinking Scottish Broadsword training, but we'll see.

Eat, Drink, and Be Merry

Spending time with friends has got to be a priority - we have so little and we're all getting older. Dinner, drinks, cinema visits, and any other thing we can think of - this is the year where money is made to be spent in the right ways. When the bills are paid and the savings have been fed, the rest is going on making memories.

Be a Tourist

Have you ever noticed that tourists and ex-pats know the city you were born in better than you? I notice that all the time, and I think it's because we take our hometowns for granted. I'm done doing that - tourism isn't just for when we travel far and wide, but for here and now. Museums, art galleries, castles, and hiking trails - they're all on my list.

Most of this doesn't sound very restful, I'm sure, but I'm coming to think that rest can simply mean not working. Rest doesn't have to mean lying in bed or on a couch - it can mean feeding the need for joy and fun and companionship inside you, and that's what I intend to do... as well as actually resting a little easier.

health
1

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.